Mrs. Jeffries and the Missing Alibi (Mrs. Jeffries Series #8)

Mrs. Jeffries and the Missing Alibi (Mrs. Jeffries Series #8)

by Emily Brightwell

NOOK Book(eBook)

View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now


Meet the inspector and Mrs. Jeffries--in a delightful mystery series set in Victorian England--and featuring the most charming characters ever to crack a case.

When Inspector Witherspoon becomes the main suspect in a murder case, Scotland Yard refuses to let him investigate. But no-one said anything about Mrs. Jeffries and her polished detection skills.. proving that behind every great man there's a woman - and that a crime-solver's work is never done!

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781101644898
Publisher: Penguin Publishing Group
Publication date: 04/01/1996
Series: Mrs. Jeffries Series , #8
Sold by: Penguin Group
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 240
Sales rank: 47,388
File size: 454 KB

About the Author

Emily Brightwell is the New York Times bestselling author of the Victorian Mystery series featuring Inspector Witherspoon and Mrs. Jeffries.

Table of Contents

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Mrs. Jeffries and the Missing Alibi 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 6 reviews.
juglicerr on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This series centers around the household of Gerald Witherspoon, an extremely kind, but not terribly bright individual who has a great reputation for his amazing (if not downright unlikely) success at solving murders. Inspector Witherspoon doesn't realize, but his good deeds and kindly nature have created great loyalty on the part of his household staff. Led by the housekeeper, Mrs. Jeffries, a policeman's widow, they successfully (and competitively) investigate every case, and tactfully pass the information along to Witherspoon. A few friends and neighbors eventually join in to help.I like having a largish band of appealing, repeating characters who are distinct from one another and continue to develop throughout the series. The stories are somewhat formulaic, which the reader may like or dislike. Personally, I wish that the continuing subplots would develop and change a little faster. The books are best read in order, although it isn't entirelly crucial. With such a long series, it is often hard to get all the books.A friend recommended this series to me when I was extremely depressed, and it was perfect!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
If you liked downtown abbey you'll enjoy this series. Best if read in order tho each one stands alone.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have been reading these British, cozy mysteries in order. They are set in the Victorian era, featuring a British Inspector and his loyal household help - this is the best one yet!! If you are following the series, this book takes a bit of a twist: Inspector Whitherspoon is implicated in a murder, thus the inept and despicable Inspector Nivens is assigned to the case. Mrs. Jeffries and crew are compelled to clear the name of their beloved Inspector. I love that we are treated to more storylines regarding the rest of the household. This one was an exceptional page turner and had quite a thrilling and dramatic end. 170 pages, no swearing, no sex, no gore
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Patito02 More than 1 year ago
Mrs Jeffries and the "family" of sleuths are back on the trail. Light, fun and a nice visit with an old friend. Reading this series is exactly like setting down with an old friend over a cup of tea and catching up. Not earth shattering by any means but fun and enjoyable. If you have not read this series you are missing out on one of life's real pleasures.