My Enemy, My Heart

My Enemy, My Heart

by Laurie Alice Eakes

Paperback

$11.66 $12.95 Save 10% Current price is $11.66, Original price is $12.95. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Monday, October 22  Order now and choose Expedited Shipping during checkout.

Overview

My Enemy, My Heart by Laurie Alice Eakes

The sea is Deirdre MacKenzie’s home, and the crew of her father’s Baltimore clipper is the only family she loves. She’s happier wearing breeches and climbing the rigging of the Maid of Alexandria than donning a dress and learning to curtsy. But when the War of 1812 erupts, the ship is captured by a British privateer, leaving her father, the captain, dead. Deirdre watches her crew herded into the hold, destined for the notorious Dartmoor prison in England. Though her fate as a noncombatant is uncertain, she knows she must find a way to free her crew.

Kieran Ashford has caused his family one too many scandals. On his way to exile in America, he is waylaid by the declaration of war and a chance to turn privateer and make his own fortune. But he regrets his actions as soon as the rich prize is secured. Now his best chance at redeeming himself in the eyes of his family is to offer Deirdre the protection of his name in marriage.

But love and loyalty clash as Kieran begins to win Deirdre’s heart despite her plot to betray him. Will Kieran’s plan mend the relationship with his family, and can this fated couple find true love despite the secret lies between them?

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781503937635
Publisher: Brilliance Publishing
Publication date: 11/15/2016
Pages: 385
Sales rank: 576,177
Product dimensions: 5.40(w) x 16.10(h) x 1.10(d)

About the Author

Laurie Alice Eakes lay in bed as a child telling herself stories and dreaming of becoming a published writer. She is now a bestselling, award-winning author with nearly two dozen books in print. Romantic Times writes: “Eakes has a charming way of making her novels come to life without being over the top.” Laurie Alice has a degree in English and French from Asbury University and a master’s degree in fiction writing from Seton Hill University. She lives in Texas with her husband and sundry pets. She loves watching old movies with her husband in the winter and going for long walks along Galveston beaches in the summer. When she isn’t writing, she’s doing housework, which she considers time to work out plot points, and visiting museums as a recreational activity. For more information about Laurie Alice and her books, visit www.lauriealiceeakes.com.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

My Enemy, My Heart 4.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 6 reviews.
ARS8 More than 1 year ago
So I have spent the last couple of days devouring author Laurie Alice Eakes newest series the Ashford Chronicles. My Enemy My Heart is the first in the series and we meet oldest son, Kieran Ashford who is trying to make his way to Georgia after being told by his father to leave England for a while due to a scandal. Unfortunately for him and for American Deirdre MacKenzie and her father’s ship, The Maid of Alexandria and crew, Britain and the US have just entered the war of 1812. Kieran sees the capture of The Maid as a way to prove to his father his worth. Not only that but he finds a bonus in the fact that Deirdre is a female in need of protection. To protect her best is to marry her. So we have a story of a marriage between an American and an Englishmen whose countries are at war. A time of spies, privateers, and cruel treatments for prisoners shows just how precarious this new married couple and the whole of the Ashford family and the times they lived in were. Their loyalties and love were tested beyond what any thought possible and even well-kept family secrets come to light. I enjoyed watching this very inconvenient marriage grow and mature these two individuals into becoming the perfect match for each other. Highly enjoyable and I cannot wait to read more by her. I purchased this book for my own reading pleasure.
Christa4 More than 1 year ago
My Enemy, My Heart by Laurie Alice Eakes is a beautiful masterpiece! I thoroughly enjoyed every minute I spent reading this book! Once you start reading, you will not be able to put it down! Deirdre MacKenzie has lived almost her entire life on the sea. When the War of 1812 breaks out, her father’ Baltimore Clipper is captured by a British privateer , Kieran Ashford and his crew. She will do anything and everything in her power to free her imprisoned crew, even if that means loving the enemy. There is much depth and so much more to the story that you will definitely want to check it out yourself. Laurie Alice Eakes brings the characters to life. The entire time you are reading it, you will be sitting on the edge of your seat anticipating what will happen next. This historical gem will have you counting down the days until the second book in the series is released! I voluntarily reviewed a copy of this book from the author and have given my honest opinion.
CarolJo More than 1 year ago
Imagine falling in love with the enemy during the War of 1812! My Enemy, My Heart takes place at sea and in England during that period. American, sea loving Deirdre and aristocrat Kieran are both strong characters as are the secondary characters of Kieran's parents. Deirdre is faithful to those she loves! If you like historical fiction, you will love this book. I received this exciting book from a Goodreads giveaway.
jacksonmomLV More than 1 year ago
I've read over 60 books this year, but none of them captured my imagination or set my heart racing more than this historical romance by Laurie Alice Eakes. Her research is thorough, and her technical descriptions of life and danger on the Atlantic were so realistic I could almost feel the schooner's deck heaving beneath my feet and smell the tang of the salty sea air. She gives a good over-view of the War of 1812 and how it affects the loyalties of her protagonists and their families. The tensions between opposites landlubber Kieran and sea-loving Deirdre are as impossible as oil and vinegar (and just as delicious!), until they each make an ultimate gift that emulsifies their relationship. The book cover will give you a synopsis of the story, so I won't repeat that here. What I enjoyed about this story is the tenacious love these two hard-headed young people had for their families, and how that shaped their choices. Both Kieran and Dierdre want the approval of their fathers at all costs. But one is dead and the other is distant - how will they ever be sure of the esteem they seek? - and can they live without it? Slowly, in the crucible of war, their priorities shift and romantic passions begin to turn into friendship and love. As their their loyalties are reshaped, their marriage, which was originally one of convenience, becomes the real treasure that defines them. They each make a sacrifice that erases the pain of past mutual betrayals and ensures their happiness in marriage. I love the characters and plot twists in this book, and can't wait to see what happens in the next book of this Ashford Chronicles series.
Katrina87 More than 1 year ago
My Enemy, My Heart was really good! This was my first time reading anything by this author, so I wasn't sure what to expect. This story has some twists. This story is interesting and the writing is strong. I was happy to receive an ARC copy of this book for my honest review.
WildflowerMom More than 1 year ago
Fans of Poldark and Horatio Hornblower will enjoy this intriguing romantic adventure tale set during the War of 1812, that brings together a couple who could not be more opposite: an English nobleman acting as a privateer, and an American captain's daughter who is a better sailor than most of his crew! There is a lot of romantic tension between the main characters, which seems to pull them apart as much as push them together. As their feelings changed and plans go awry, it became more exciting; it was hard to guess how their story would end. I admired Dierdre's loyalty to her crew, whom she saw as her family, and their commitment to watch out for her. Her divided loyalties in her situation set up some interesting ethical dilemmas. She was a fun character to see develop, especially as she traded her seaman persona to act more ladylike. She's quite the spitfire! Kieran was so set on his own agenda that he seemed oblivious to her needs most of the time, which may have been typical of his class and the era. His mother and sisters were a nice addition to the mix. I look forward to seeing some of them in future books, as the preview seemed to hint at. Readers who enjoy a romantic historical adventure will probably like this book. There are no overt faith elements, and the romance includes many mentions of sexual relationships (without details), making this a story that may appeal to more mature readers, and those who like clean general romance fiction also. 4.5 stars (Book provided by NetGalley and the publisher in exchange for my honest review.)