Of Love and Treason

Of Love and Treason

by Jamie Ogle
Of Love and Treason

Of Love and Treason

by Jamie Ogle

Paperback

$16.99 
  • SHIP THIS ITEM
    Qualifies for Free Shipping
    Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Monday, March 4
  • PICK UP IN STORE
    Check Availability at Nearby Stores

Related collections and offers


Overview

Valentine defies the emperor and becomes a hero . . . and the most wanted man in the empire. Compelled by his faith, he has nothing to lose, until a chance encounter with the daughter of a Roman jailor changes everything.

Rome, AD 270. In the wake of the emperor’s marriage ban, rumors swirl that there is one man brave enough to perform wedding ceremonies in secret. A public notarius and leader of an underground church, Valentine believes the emperor’s edict unjust and risks his own life for the sake of his convictions. But as his fame grows, so do fears for his safety.

Iris, the daughter of a Roman jailor, believes regaining her sight will ease the mounting troubles at home. Her last hope rests in searching out Valentine and his church, but the danger of associating with people labeled a threat to the empire is great. Still, as Iris's new friends lead her to faith in God, Iris is drawn to Valentine and they both begin to hope for a future together beyond the treacherous empire.

But when a past debt and a staggering betrayal collide, Valentine, Iris, and everyone they love must fight for their lives . . . and wrestle with trusting a God who can restore sight yet does not always keep His followers from peril.

  • Discussion questions for book clubs
  • Retelling of the legend of St. Valentine
  • First Christian historical romance novel set in ancient times by author Jamie Ogle

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781496479679
Publisher: Tyndale House Publishers
Publication date: 01/23/2024
Pages: 400
Sales rank: 206,051
Product dimensions: 5.50(w) x 8.10(h) x 1.10(d)

What People are Saying About This

Lynn Austin

The unforgettable characters in Of Love and Treason touched my heart.

Jocelyn Green

Of Love and Treason is a feast for the soul. . . . Fans of Amanda Barratt’s novels and Francine Rivers’s Mark of the Lion series will rejoice over this astounding debut.

Joanna Davidson Politano

A fresh, evocative look at a character everyone has heard of, but few truly know. Of Love and Treason is the perfect blend of historical research and depth of character—a beautifully wrought tale.

Francine Rivers

Of Love and Treason is a terrific read, rich in historical detail. With vividly drawn settings and complex characters, Jamie Ogle brings ancient Rome to life in this immersive and heart-wrenching story about early Christians who sacrificed everything for their faith. Fascinating from the first page to the last.

Jennifer L. Wright

Ogle’s novel . . . is a beautiful examination of love in its many forms. Not to be missed.

Mesu Andrews

What a triumph! Of Love and Treason is for anyone who’s ever wondered why bad things happen to good people. A tender love story and boost to faith!

Laura Frantz

Of Love and Treason overflows with heart and hope, courage and conviction. Fans of Francine Rivers’s Mark of the Lion series will welcome this well-researched, timeless novel set in third-century Rome.

From the B&N Reads Blog

Customer Reviews