Ollie

Ollie

by Olivier Dunrea

Hardcover

$9.95
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Monday, March 2
MARKETPLACE
30 New & Used Starting at $1.99

Overview


Friends Gossie and Gertie are waiting and waiting for Ollie to hatch. They try poking, listening, even sitting on top of his egg—but Ollie just won’t come out.
Ollie is Ollie and he will decide when it’s time to hatch. Fans of Gossie and Gossie and Gertie will find Ollie just as charming and delightful as the first two books. Any toddler that has had to wait for a new brother or sister will find Ollie irresistible.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780618339280
Publisher: HMH Books
Publication date: 08/25/2003
Series: Gossie and Friends Series
Pages: 32
Sales rank: 429,481
Product dimensions: 6.00(w) x 6.00(h) x 0.36(d)
Lexile: 270L (what's this?)
Age Range: 3 - 5 Years

About the Author

Olivier Dunrea is the creator of beautiful and well-loved children’s books. A painter and a sculptor, his work centers around farms, animals, architecture, and folklore. He lives in the tiny village of Narrowsburg, New York, in the Catskill Mountains.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Ollie 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 5 reviews.
conuly on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Very cute and simple, both in pictures and text. Charming is the best word for the series.Dunrea has a real gift at drawing emotions on geese. Even a very little child (and these books are just the right pace for babies and toddlers) can figure out what the geese are feeling by looking at the pictures.I really recommend all these books.
megjwal on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Ollie by Olivier DunreaGoosie and Gertie are waiting for Ollie to come out of his egg. Ollie tells them he will not come out. Ollie keeps this up until he finally decides it is time for him to come out to meet the world.This is such a cute story about waiting for a new friend to enter the world. I think this is a wonderful story for preschool children to learn about goslings and friendship.I would recommend this book for preschool students and Kindergarten students with short attention span. I would use this story to discuss waiting for something exciting to happen like a new baby being born or a new toy. I would have the students draw a picture of what they might have to wait for and have them dictate what their picture is to the teacher. We can also discuss new vocabulary word gosling.
abconnor1 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Ollie is an egg. His friends have been waiting for two weeks for Ollie to come out. Goosie pokes Ollie and Gertie listens with her ear. He still won't come out. He rolls all around the ground. He even rolls under a sheep and still refuses to come out. Gossie and Gertie run after Ollie. When Goosie and Gertie finally give up and tell Ollie don't come out Ollie decides he wants to come out and starts cracking his shell. Then he says, "I'm out" at the end. Really cute and inspiring book.
grammeLC More than 1 year ago
I love all the books with Gossie, and Gertie in them and now with Ollie. I read them to my gradchildren and my daycare kids. They love them and ask for those books!!
Alychris More than 1 year ago
My son has always loved these books! He was interested in them when he was an infant and now as a toddler. He says words he may not have learned in other books...like snail, mole, bee and of course the characters names. It also helped with animal sounds and opposites. We hope to see new characters and books come out in this series!