One Ranger Returns

One Ranger Returns

by H. Joaquin Jackson

NOOK Book(eBook)

$18.99 $24.95 Save 24% Current price is $18.99, Original price is $24.95. You Save 24%.
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details


No Texas Ranger memoir has captured the public's imagination like Joaquin Jackson's One Ranger. Readers thrilled to Jackson's stories of catching criminals and keeping the peace across a wide swath of the Texas-Mexico border-and clamored for more. Now in One Ranger Returns, Jackson reopens his case files to tell more unforgettable stories, while also giving readers a deeply personal view of what being a Texas Ranger has meant to him and his family. Jackson recalls his five-year pursuit of two of America's most notorious serial killers, Henry Lee Lucas and Ottis Toole. He sets the record straight about the role of the Texas Rangers during the United Farm Workers strike in the Rio Grande Valley in 1966-1967. Jackson also describes the frustration of trying to solve a cold case from 1938-the brutal murder of a mother and daughter in the lonely desert east of Van Horn. He presents a rogue's gallery of cattle rustlers, drug smugglers, and a teetotaling bootlegger named Tom Bybee, a modest, likeable man who became an ax murderer. And in an eloquent concluding chapter, Jackson pays tribute to the Rangers who have gone before him, as well as those who keep the peace today.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780292779662
Publisher: University of Texas Press
Publication date: 08/29/2011
Series: Bridwell Texas History Series
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
Sales rank: 1,087,068
File size: 3 MB

About the Author

H. JOAQUIN JACKSON retired from the Texas Rangers in 1993, after a twenty-seven-year career. In 2006, he was awarded the William Penn Award for public service by the Penn Club of Philadelphia.

JAMES L. HALEY is an acclaimed historian and novelist whose previous books include the award-winning Sam Houston and Passionate Nation: The Epic History of Texas. His book Wolf: The Lives of Jack London won the Western Writers of America Spur Award for Best Biography.

Table of Contents

  • Acknowledgments
  • Prologue
  • 1. La Huelga: The United Farm Workers Strike of 1966-1967
  • 2. By the Light of the Rustlers' Moon
  • 3. My Own Good Ole Boys: The FBI National Academy
  • 4. Sadistic Deaths in the Desert: The Frome Murders
  • 5. A Man Not to Mess With
  • 6. To All the Dogs I've Loved Before
  • 7. The Deadly Duo: Lucas and Toole
  • 8. The Hunt for Alfredo Hernandez, a Muy Mal Hombre
  • 9. Homicides and Questionable Deaths: A Window into the Method
  • 10. A Drug-Smuggling Lawyer-Brush Pilot: The Flanagan Case
  • 11. The Fall of the Champ
  • 12. The Valadez Kid
  • 13. Rio Bravo
  • 14. From Ranger to Private Eye
  • 15. Stand by Your Ranger
  • 16. Sons of One Ranger
  • 17. Silver Badges of Courage

Customer Reviews