Only the Brave: The Continuing Saga of the San Juan Pioneers

Only the Brave: The Continuing Saga of the San Juan Pioneers

by Gerald N. Lund


View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Tuesday, October 23?   Order by 12:00 PM Eastern and choose Expedited Shipping at checkout.
    Same Day shipping in Manhattan. 
    See Details


Only the Brave: The Continuing Saga of the San Juan Pioneers by Gerald N. Lund

As this standalone sequel to The Undaunted begins, four years have passed since the first Mormon pioneers made the harrowing journey to carve the Hole-in-the-Rock trail to the region of the San Juan River in southeastern Utah. In that time, the settlers have dug in deep to try to establish roots in this untamed and unforgiving desert, but life is still far from easy. Biting winds, devastating floods, scorching heat, barren terrain, and tensions with everyone from Indians to outlaws to competing ranchers have threatened the pioneers' ability to thrive—or even survive.

But the call from Church leaders to establish peaceful, stable settlements in the volatile region still stands, so young Mitch Westland and his family must find a way to make a home amid the harshest of circumstances. They soon learn that their only chance of success lies in uniting together with the other faithful Saints—including the Zimmers and their charming daughter, Edie. Can the families withstand the blows that seem to come every step of the way as they struggle against man, nature, and their own fears to heed a prophetic call? Many settle will try to conquer that rugged territory, but only the brave will prevail.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781629720265
Publisher: Deseret Book Company
Publication date: 12/08/2014
Pages: 288
Sales rank: 1,225,249
Product dimensions: 6.10(w) x 9.10(h) x 1.10(d)

About the Author

Elder Gerald N. Lund received his BA and MS degrees in sociology from Brigham Young University. He served for thirty-five years in the Church Educational System, and he served as a member of the Second Quorum of the Seventy from 2002 to 2008. He is a prolific and bestselling author of both fiction and nonfiction and is best known for his historical novels, including The Work and the Glory series, Fire of the Covenant, The Kingdom and the Crown series, and The Undaunted. He and his late wife, Lynn, are the parents of seven children.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Only the Brave: The Continuing Saga of the San Juan Pioneers 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
lovingthebooks More than 1 year ago
Gerald N. Lund is a FANTASTIC storyteller! And this book is appropriately named...for ONLY THE BRAVE could have lived through what these people had to live through. It is 1884 and the Saints have been in the San Juan valley for four years. Sent there by their leaders to fulfill these three missions: *They were to become a buffer between the white man and the Indians. *They were to be like a the shock absorbers on a wagon, which soften the blows for those riding in the wagon, or in this case, those in the other settlements. *They were to be like a lightning rod, which draws down the fires of heaven upon itself so they do not consume others. Life is definitely hard as they battle nature and Indians and rough outlaws and competing ranchers. Church leaders have been called to assess the situation and other families have now been sent to buoy up these Saints. You will read of true accounts of life in these harsh conditions. You will also be introduced to Mitch Westland and his family as they try to follow the directive of the Prophet. And you will learn of the Zimmers family and their strong-willed daughter, Edie. These two families will unite with the this valley... that will test them to their very most inner strength. Fascinating details of the lives of these early settlers! Amazing stories of what life was like for them! Don't miss out on this one!