Hardcover

$16.19 $17.99 Save 10% Current price is $16.19, Original price is $17.99. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, October 23

Overview

A School Library Journal Best Book of the Year

"Simple yet stirring, this is perfect for preschooler bedtimes."— Booklist starred review

Fans of the classic picture book Owl Babies by Martin Waddell and Patrick Benson will adore this utterly simple picture book in which a baby owl goes off on his first adventure.

 
With just three or four words per page, this story follows a baby owl one night as he leaves the safety of his nest (Home/Mama/Brother/Sister) and explores the starry world around him (Soar/Glide/Swoop/Swoosh). Inspired by reverso poetry, the words reverse in the middle when the baby owl is startled upon seeing his reflection in the pond (Owl/Sees/Owl). Afraid of it, little owl takes off toward home, soaring over farms and forests (Swoosh/Swoop/Glide/Soar) until he is finally safely home again (Sister/Brother/Mama/Home).

"Fans of Jane Yolen’s Owl Moon and Martin Waddell’s Owl Babies will also love this calming story about an owl’s first adventure." —School Library Journal, Starred

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780553497823
Publisher: Random House Children's Books
Publication date: 09/20/2016
Pages: 40
Sales rank: 519,647
Product dimensions: 8.10(w) x 10.20(h) x 0.40(d)
Lexile: NP (what's this?)
Age Range: 3 - 7 Years

About the Author

Laura Godwin has written many well-loved books for children, including the Doll People novels, which she co-authored with Ann M. Martin. She also works as a children’s book editor. She lives in New York City.

Rob Dunlavey is the illustrator of The Dandelion’s Tale by Kevin Sheehan, which was called “luminous” and “radiant” in a starred review by Kirkus Reviews; Over in the Wetlands by Caroline Starr Rose; and Counting Crows by Kathy Appelt. His artwork has been featured in the New York Times, the Boston Globe, BusinessWeek, and the Los Angeles Times, among many other publications. He lives in suburban Boston with his wife, two teenage daughters, a cat, and a tropical fish. Learn more at robd.com.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews