Passage to Avalon

Passage to Avalon

by Mike Thayer

NOOK Book(eBook)

$3.99
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details

Overview

Fans of Fablehaven and Harry Potter will love this modern spin on fantasy with the "hilariously epic journey" (Readers' Favorite) of a boy stuck in a magical land who can still post about his adventures on social media and YouTube!

Thirteen-year-old Sam Shelton is the only person in Avalon who can't use the magical power of aether. He's also the only person in Avalon with a bag of high-tech spy gear, a solar-powered cell phone with intermittent signal back to Earth, a YouTube account, and a murderous wizard-emperor on his tail...so he's got a lot going for him.

When an earthquake hits his hometown of Bozeman, Montana, Sam gets inexplicably transported to Avalon, a strange world in which aether defines all aspects of life: the rich, the poor, the weak, the powerful, the oppressed, and the oppressors. Sam soon discovers that not only is he immune to aether's magical effects, but that he possesses the rare ability to destroy the stuff on contact. This phenomenon poses something of a major concern for the Emperor of Avalon, a tyrant who has dedicated his life to amassing more aether than all his subjects combined.

While trying to find a way back home, Sam learns that his best hope lies with meeting the emperor head on, and draining the tyrant of his power. To do that, Sam will need to band together with a medieval cowboy, a young aether prodigy, and a curious dryad, all while using his whole bag of technological tricks...and posting about it on social media, of course.

In Passage to Avalon, Mike Thayer takes a humorous, action-packed, and modern spin on the portal fantasy genre in the first book of The Epic Adventures of the Techno Wizard, a series that combines magical fantasy with near future technology and social media.

Product Details

BN ID: 2940161746110
Publisher: Hooligan Press
Publication date: 10/14/2018
Series: The Epic Adventures of the Techno Wizard , #1
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
Sales rank: 100,330
File size: 753 KB
Age Range: 9 - 12 Years

About the Author

Mike Thayer is a proud father of three, lucky husband of one, passionate author, viral blogger, degreed engineer, decent impressionist, inept hunter, erstwhile jock, and nerd.

He has cast a ring on the slopes of Mt. Doom, eaten a feast at the Green Dragon Inn, cemented Excalibur in a sandstone block, tasted butter beer at Diagon Alley, built a secret door to his storage room, and written a fantasy novel. What else is left, really?

Customer Reviews