Penny and Her Doll

Penny and Her Doll

by Kevin Henkes

Paperback

$4.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details

Overview

Caldecott Medalist Kevin Henkes’s award-winning Penny returns in the second I Can Read story about a sweet and curious mouse, perfect for fans Lilly’s Purple Plastic Purse, Owen, and Chrysanthemum.

When Penny receives a surprise box in the mail from Gram, she is thrilled. The surprise is a doll, and she is absolutely perfect, from her head to her toes. Penny loves her immediately. She introduces her new doll to Mama and to the babies and to Papa. But then Papa asks what the doll's name is, and Penny realizes that she doesn't know. What should Penny call her?

Kevin Henkes is a master at creating beautifully illustrated books that resonate with young children. The Penny books are new classics for beginning readers and will appeal to fans of Frog and Toad, Little Bear, and Henry and Mudge. Penny and Her Doll is a Level One I Can Read book, which means it's perfect for children learning to sound out words and sentences.

Don't miss Penny's newest adventures in Penny and Her Sled, coming this fall!

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780062082015
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date: 02/19/2013
Series: I Can Read Book 1 Series
Pages: 32
Sales rank: 59,100
Product dimensions: 6.16(w) x 8.82(h) x 0.14(d)
Lexile: AD290L (what's this?)
Age Range: 4 - 8 Years

About the Author

Kevin Henkes is an award-winning author and illustrator of many books for children of all ages. He received the Caldecott Medal for Kitten’s First Full Moon; Caldecott Honors for Waiting and Owen; two Newbery Honors—one for Olive’s Ocean and one for The Year of Billy Miller—and Geisel Honors for Waiting and Penny and Her Marble. His other books include Egg, Old Bear, A Good Day, Chrysanthemum, and the beloved Lilly’s Purple Plastic Purse. Kevin Henkes lives with his family in Madison, Wisconsin. www.kevinhenkes.com


Kevin Henkes is an award-winning author and illustrator of many books for children of all ages. He received the Caldecott Medal for Kitten’s First Full Moon; Caldecott Honors for Waiting and Owen; two Newbery Honors—one for Olive’s Ocean and one for The Year of Billy Miller—and Geisel Honors for Waiting and Penny and Her Marble. His other books include Egg, Old Bear, A Good Day, Chrysanthemum, and the beloved Lilly’s Purple Plastic Purse. Kevin Henkes lives with his family in Madison, Wisconsin. www.kevinhenkes.com

Hometown:

Madison, Wisconsin

Date of Birth:

November 27, 1960

Place of Birth:

Racine, Wisconsin

Education:

University of Wisconsin, Madison

Customer Reviews