Plague Years: A Doctor's Journey through the AIDS Crisis

Plague Years: A Doctor's Journey through the AIDS Crisis

by Ross A. Slotten, MD

NOOK Book(eBook)

$15.49 $20.00 Save 23% Current price is $15.49, Original price is $20. You Save 23%.
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details


In 1992, Dr. Ross A. Slotten signed more death certificates in Chicago—and, by inference, the state of Illinois—than anyone else. As a family physician, he was trained to care for patients from birth to death, but when he completed his residency in 1984, he had no idea that many of his future patients would be cut down in the prime of their lives. Among those patients were friends, colleagues, and lovers, shunned by most of the medical community because they were gay and HIV positive. Slotten wasn’t an infectious disease specialist, but because of his unique position as both a gay man and a young physician, he became an unlikely pioneer, swept up in one of the worst epidemics in modern history.

Plague Years is an unprecedented first-person account of that epidemic, spanning not just the city of Chicago but four continents as well. Slotten provides an intimate yet comprehensive view of the disease’s spread alongside heartfelt portraits of his patients and his own conflicted feelings as a medical professional, drawn from more than thirty years of personal notebooks. In telling the story of someone who was as much a potential patient as a doctor, Plague Years sheds light on the darkest hours in the history of the LGBT community in ways that no previous medical memoir has.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780226718934
Publisher: University of Chicago Press
Publication date: 07/15/2020
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 224
Sales rank: 476,859
File size: 643 KB

About the Author

Ross A. Slotten is a family practitioner specializing in the care of people with HIV/AIDS. He lives in Chicago with his partner and is the author of The Heretic in Darwin’s Court: The Life of Alfred Russel Wallace.

Table of Contents

Contents Prologue 1. No End in Sight (1992) 2. First Cairn (1984) 3. Out of the Closet and into the Fire (Before 1983) 4. Art’s Final Illness (1985) 5. The Period at the End of the Sentence (1985) 6. Known Knowns (1985) 7. The Saga of Stan S. (1986–88) 8. The Predator and Prey Within (1991) 9. Unstoppable Wildfire (1991–92) 10. Dead Men Walking (1992) 11. AIDS in Namibia (1992–93) 12. AIDS in Berlin (1993) 13. Turning Point (1996–2004) 14. Transitions (2007–14) Epilogue (2016 and Beyond) Acknowledgments

Customer Reviews