Raybearer (Raybearer Series #1)

Raybearer (Raybearer Series #1)

by Jordan Ifueko
Raybearer (Raybearer Series #1)

Raybearer (Raybearer Series #1)

by Jordan Ifueko

Hardcover

(Not eligible for purchase using B&N Audiobooks Subscription credits)
$18.99 
  • SHIP THIS ITEM
    Qualifies for Free Shipping
    Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, February 29
  • PICK UP IN STORE
    Check Availability at Nearby Stores

Related collections and offers


Overview

Fans of Sabaa Tahir and Tomi Adeyemi won’t want to miss Raybearer, an instant New York Times bestselling fantasy from breakout YA sensation Jordan Ifueko!

Named one of the best books of the year by People magazine, Buzzfeed, New York Public Library, Chicago Public Library, Kirkus Reviews, School Library Journal, Publishers Weekly, and more!

“Dazzling. . . . All hail Raybearer.—Entertainment Weekly
“Brilliantly conceived fantasy.” —People
“An exquisitely detailed world.” —PopSugar

Nothing is more important than loyalty. But what if you’ve sworn to protect the one you were born to destroy?

Tarisai has always longed for the warmth of a family. She was raised in isolation by a mysterious, often absent mother known only as the Lady. The Lady sends her to the capital of the global empire of Aritsar to compete with other children to be chosen as one of the Crown Prince’s Council of 11. If she’s picked, she’ll be joined with the other Council members through the Ray, a bond deeper than blood. That closeness is irresistible to Tarisai, who has always wanted to belong somewhere.

But the Lady has other ideas, including a magical wish that Tarisai is compelled to obey: Kill the Crown Prince once she gains his trust. Tarisai won’t stand by and become someone’s pawn—but is she strong enough to choose a different path for herself? With extraordinary world-building and breathtaking prose, Raybearer is the story of loyalty, fate, and the lengths we’re willing to go for the ones we love.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781419739828
Publisher: Amulet Books
Publication date: 08/18/2020
Series: Raybearer Series , #1
Pages: 368
Sales rank: 457,049
Product dimensions: 8.90(w) x 6.20(h) x 1.40(d)
Age Range: 12 - 17 Years

About the Author

Jordan Ifueko is the Nebula Finalist and New York Times bestselling author of the Raybearer series and other stories, including short fiction in the Hugo-nominated magazine Strange Horizons. She’s been featured on NPR Best Books, NPR Pop Culture Hour, ALA Top Ten, Buzzfeed, and other publications. She writes about magic Black girls who aren’t magic all the time, because honestly, they deserve a vacation. Ifueko lives in Los Angeles with her husband, David, and their three-legged trustafarian dog, Reginald Ovahcomah.
From the B&N Reads Blog

Customer Reviews