Reckless in Red

Reckless in Red

by Rachael Miles

Paperback(Mass Market Paperback)

$7.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, December 18

Overview

Lena Frost is a force to be reckoned with. A woman who has made her way in society without family or fortune, she’s about to realize her first big success as an artist. . . . Until her business partner makes off with her money, leaving her with little more than her hopes—and a dead body in her studio. Now Lena is at the mercy of a strikingly handsome stranger demanding answers she dare not reveal . . .
 
Is it her seductive eyes, or his suspicion that she’s up to no good that have Clive Somerville shadowing Lena’s every move? Either way, his secret investigation for the Home Office has him determined to uncover Lena’s hidden agenda.  But the closer he gets to her, the more he longs to be her protector. Is she a victim of circumstance? Or a dark force in a conspiracy that could destroy everything Clive holds dear?  Discovering the truth could have dire consequences, not only for Lena, but for his heart . . .
 
Praise for the Muses’ Salon series
 
“Rachael Miles’ knowledge of the time period she writes about adds a depth of authenticity that enriches every page.” 
—Jodi Thomas, New York Times bestselling author

 
“Fans of Jo Beverly and Mary Jo Putney as well as all readers who value Regency-set romances that are expertly grounded in the era’s history will be delighted!”
Booklist
 
“A delicious, original read.” 
RT Book Reviews

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781420146561
Publisher: Kensington
Publication date: 10/29/2019
Series: The Muses' Salon Series Series , #4
Pages: 384
Sales rank: 340,523
Product dimensions: 4.10(w) x 6.70(h) x 1.10(d)

About the Author

Rachael Miles has always loved a good romance, especially one with a bit of suspense and preferably a ghost. She is also a professor of book history and nineteenth-century literature whose students frequently find themselves reading the novels of Ann Radcliffe and other gothic tales. A native Texan, Rachael lives with her indulgent husband, three rescued dogs, and an ancient cat. Visit her at www.rachaelmiles.com.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Reckless in Red 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 6 reviews.
jnhoward99 27 days ago
Lena Frost has survived without family or funds and is well on her way to establishing herself as an artist in England after 10 years in France. Her latest exhibition is shaping up to be a great success until her partner absconds with all her money and she finds a dead body in her rooms. Now she has a handsome investigator breathing down her neck and must decide how much she dares entrust him with, if anything at all. Lord Clive Somerville wears many hats: he moves in high society as a duke's younger son, is a respected surgeon and teacher, and he moonlights as a secret investigator for the Home Office. It is in this latter capacity that Lena appears on his radar and he's determined to learn what she's hiding. But the more time he spends with her, the more protective he becomes of her and the more he begins to think she is just another victim of a larger crime ring. It soon becomes apparent that there is more going on than was first evident and it may all be part of a larger conspiracy that could have dire consequences for them both. You chance spoilers from here on; though I've tried not to add them, it does tend to happen when I rant. I have some mixed feelings about this one. There was a large cast of characters from previous books that were a bit of a struggle to keep straight, but what really confused me was the simple fact that some things just didn't make good sense. Some scenes are told from the point of view of the villains, which was interesting, but this just made it difficult to keep track of all the different villainous elements at play here. I kept thinking we were going to get this great mind-blowing twist with the two masterminds and it never came so that was a bit disappointing, though perhaps this is being saved for later books in the series. I enjoyed the mystery and suspense aspect of the story, but I definitely felt like the romance element took a back seat, especially because much of the time Lena is just being one of the prickly "independent" women that seem to be so popular now and she just came off as hateful to me; even she acknowledged the unfairness of her behavior at times but she didn't really ever change it. Much of the time Lena is just being awful to Clive while he's just trying to help and keep her safe which also doing his job as an investigator. I also felt that both Clive and Lena kept making stupid decisions that didn't mesh with the intelligence their characters previously demonstrated and came off as a sloppy way to keep them engaged with the villains and just had me rolling my eyes and literally yelling out loud at them. It also didn't make sense that Lena was the daughter of a wealthy baron but her inheritance was just a house and land; this didn't jive with other mentions of it in the story and leads me to think that perhaps the attempted complexity here got just a bit out of hand with too many twists to keep track of. Also, I'm all for twists in a plot line when they're well done, but that last one seemed wholly unfair to Clive and unnecessary for the a story that already felt like it was dragging. Despite the mystery and suspense, the pacing was rather slow, especially when it came to the romance, and their intimate scenes together were a letdown after how long their chemistry and tension was built. This book also hit some pet peeves of mine: the characters are kept apart for a time due to their lack of communication, a plot device I detest; Lena is very hypocritical at time
WildFlowerBookBlogs 29 days ago
As far as historical fiction goes, I think this was a marvelous take on a classic romance scenario. The characters were witty, and the plot line was exquisite. 5/5 stars for a profound tale of the ages.
CathyGeha 3 months ago
Reckless in Red by Rachael Miles Muses Salon #4 Complex, complicated and completely captivating...this book had my attention from the first to the last page! What I liked: * The time period * The slow unfolding of the story * The strength of the main male and female characters * Learning about Panoramas and how they were created as well as what a big deal they must have been long ago * Clive’s family...all of them * The intrigue provided by the spy-factor * Resurrectionist information shared in the story * The mystery and quest Lena and Clive were involved in * The Muses and the strength of the women together * The path Clive chose to follow as a younger son * The slow building of trust between Clive and Lena * The way Lena thought in terms of color, composition and character – it reminded me of taking up watercolor and how I began to see the world in a completely different way * and more What I did not like: * Charters (& Flute)….think he must eventually, in this series, get his comeuppance (at least I hope so!) * Lena’s father and the woman who ran the school she attended for awhile * The horrible childhood that Lena endured * The lack of value some put on a human life * Having to say goodbye to the characters at the end of the story. Thank you to NetGalley and Kensington-Zebra for the ARC – This is my honest review. 5 Stars
georgia1 3 months ago
This is the first story I have read by this author and I have to say it pulled me in and did not let go until the end! Her detailed descriptions had me feeling I was there with the characters and could also imagine walking in their steps and feeling their thoughts. I was wrapped in the mystery immediately when the heroine Lena found her business partner Horatio gone and the money they had collected to open the exhibition with him. But there was a note with one word on it "RUN." It was at that time when she was alone that a man, looking like a classical god come to life! She was able to escape acting like she was looking for someone too. The journey is long, filled with a lot of twist and turns, mystery, suspense, secrets and a slow romance that makes you want to hurry and turn the pages to see what will happen. I really want to go back and start at the beginning and catch up on the other characters who appear. If you like a mystery with your history and romance, you cannot miss with this great story. Thank you Netgallery and the Publisher for helping me find this new author! Looking forward to reading more Lori D
Historical_Romance_Lover 4 months ago
Lena is about to open her panorama where she hopes to finally get recognition for her artistic endeavors. But just a few weeks prior to it opening, her business partner goes missing with all the subscription money and leaves a cryptic message. The same day that her business partner and the money go missing, Clive comes snooping around her office. She lies to him about who she is as she doesn't know what he wants. Hopefully she'll never see him again... Clive is a physician and is trying to solve a string of murders. Lena's missing business partner reached out to him, saying that he had evidence that would help Clive. When he arrives to talk to him, he runs into Lena. He is intrigued by her, but doesn't look beyond the image she portray herself as. They soon meet up again and Clive learns who Lena really is. They both realize that her life is in danger and work together to find the culprits. As they spend more and more time together, they develop feeling for each other. Can this painter and son of a duke find their HEA with each other? I loved Lena and Clive's story! Lena is scared to share much about herself as she doesn't know if she can trust Clive, therefore the romance starts out slowly. But it was enjoyable to watch the slow burn as they were both very attracted to the other from the beginning. I loved seeing some of the other Muses as I've throughly enjoyed this whole series! This was a great addition to the Muses' Salon series!
PMorgan6 4 months ago
This is book 4 in the Muses series. This is the story of Clive and Lena. I consider this a romantic mystery thriller. Clive is investigating the mysterious deaths of Emigrees showing up in his surgery school. His investigation takes him to a Mr. Calder, where he meets Lena. They are both looking for Mr. Calder, who is Lena's business partner. They decide to look for him together. As people around Lena start turning up dead, Clive becomes concerned and protective. There is an attraction between them. They both feel it. But who is committing these murders and why? The investigation becomes dangerous, as at the same time their relationship grows. I enjoyed this book. It was for the most part fast moving and kept you guessing. I like her characters and their personalities. I did find the conversations among the ressurectionists confusing at times. And we do and we don't know who's responsible. I'd like to thank netgalley for the chance to review this book.