Rumor of Evil: A Novel

Rumor of Evil: A Novel

by Gary Braver
Rumor of Evil: A Novel

Rumor of Evil: A Novel

by Gary Braver

Hardcover

$27.95 
  • SHIP THIS ITEM
    Qualifies for Free Shipping
  • PICK UP IN STORE
    Check Availability at Nearby Stores

Related collections and offers


Overview

A 16-year-old exchange student accused of witchcraft—dark circumstances and sick rumors lead to her brutal death, a cover-up, and more murders two decades later

Detectives Kirk Lucian and Mandy Wing are charged with investigating a reported suicide of a Cambridge woman in her backyard. The death came as a shock—the woman was considered a pillar of her community and was well-liked by everyone. After further investigation, the hanging appears staged. Once Kirk and Mandy’s suspicions are confirmed, they make a list of suspects.

Clues begin to connect the recent murder to the decades-old mysterious death of a beautiful 16-year-old Romany exchange student who perished when a treehouse she was sleeping in caught fire. The girl, Vadima Lupescu, had done “odd” things among her American peers that stirred up prejudices and suspicions, leading to her brutal death—and cover-up.

As Kirk and Mandy investigate the bizarre rumors—that Vadima had “gypsy powers” and put curses on those around her—they discover a cauldron of dark secrets. Will they uncover the true cause of this tangled web of deaths and horrors before it spirals out of control?

Perfect for fans of Stephen King and Tess Gerritsen

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781608095933
Publisher: Oceanview Publishing
Publication date: 10/10/2023
Pages: 320
Sales rank: 249,528
Product dimensions: 6.25(w) x 9.25(h) x 1.10(d)

About the Author

Gary Braver is the best-selling and award-winning author of ten critically acclaimed mysteries and medical thrillers including Elixir, Gray Matter, Choose Me (cowritten with Tess Gerritsen), and Flashback, which is the first thriller to have won a prestigious Massachusetts Book Award. He has taught literature and fiction writing at Northeastern University, as well as at workshops and conferences around the world. Braver’s novels have been translated into 16 languages, and three have been optioned for movies, including Elixir by director Ridley Scott. Rumor of Evil is his latest novel. He lives with his family outside of Boston.
From the B&N Reads Blog

Customer Reviews