Shattered Fossils

Shattered Fossils

by Sharon Lax
Shattered Fossils

Shattered Fossils

by Sharon Lax


    Qualifies for Free Shipping
    Usually ships within 6 days
    Check Availability at Nearby Stores

Related collections and offers


Shattered Fossils, a collection of short stories, takes its title from themes of the irretrievable past, particularly within Ark of Gopherwood, in which the narrator describes his friend as someone who has pieced together elements of the historical past, to create a more complete picture of history. From the short story in which a character enters a "painted sidewalk," the collection moves into an exploration of the creation of memoir and memory. Some of the stories, but especially one about a 'bard,' set in Montreal, another set in Iceland and one set off the coast of England, contain ghosts. The last is told from a ghost's perspective. Her husband, a mathematician, has called her from the shadows. While she was alive, he insisted time was immutable. Now he is attempting to solve the equation that will bring her back.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781771834858
Publisher: Guernica Editions, Incorporated
Publication date: 05/01/2020
Series: Essential Prose Series , #179
Pages: 250
Product dimensions: 5.00(w) x 8.00(h) x 0.70(d)

About the Author

Currently, Sharon Lax calls Deux-Montagnes, near Montreal, her home. She's had several, all of which have given texture to these stories: L.A., Waukegan, Boston, Toronto, Vancouver and, of course, Montreal. A writer, teacher, activist and editor, her favourite pastime, besides writing and walking along forested mountain paths, is working for and with animals and educating the public on their behalf. Sharon Lax has published in the Quebec Writers' Federation’s online journal carte blanche, The Dalhousie Review, The Rover and Montréal Serai. Like all inhabitants of this planet, Sharon aspires to reach that one fine place, also a moment in time, that resounds like a perfect note, what Lawrin S. Harris called the "summit of my soul ... there where the universe sings."

Read an Excerpt

I imagine, Thomas, wherever you're headed, you'll be winding your timepiece; while down here, I'll be waiting around for a woman who makes Purgatory look like Paradiso.

Table of Contents

Dawn Ascends 1

An Ark of Gopherwood 3

The Earl of Beaconsfield 29

Four Characters 47

Life is but a Dream 73

Freedom 87

The Left Eye 91

Les monstres affectueux - Affectionate Monsters 113

Love Along the 63rd - A Symphony 143

Raw Sugar 159

The Bard of Dorchester Square 183

Then They Went on Their Way 207

Memory Becomes You 229

Acknowledgements 246

About the Author 248

From the B&N Reads Blog

Customer Reviews