Shotgun Angels: My Story of Broken Roads and Unshakeable Hope

Shotgun Angels: My Story of Broken Roads and Unshakeable Hope


View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Wednesday, May 12


From one of America's most successful and beloved country music artists, Rascal Flatts's Jay De Marcus, Shotgun Angels reveals the untold stories of his journey and will rally your own courage to find hope where you least expect it.

From his humble beginnings in Ohio, to the spark of early fame in Nashville, to a fair share of surprises and setbacks, Jay has learned firsthand that the blessing only comes through the broken road. Shotgun Angels details his path to celebrated heights, as well as the hope instilled in him at a young age that started it all—a hope that sustained him when it looked like his music career was over, and continues to fuel him today.

With no shortage of humor, heart, and off-the-cuff candor, Jay gives readers a backstage pass to the story behind the music and the musician. You'll follow his intensely personal journey through big breaks and broken dreams, desperate dashboard prayers, and limelight glories. Along the way, you'll find the same constant source of strength that he has—hope that is powerful enough to hold you up through whatever trials come your way.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780310355038
Publisher: Zondervan
Publication date: 04/30/2019
Pages: 240
Sales rank: 637,919
Product dimensions: 6.00(w) x 8.80(h) x 1.00(d)

About the Author

Jay De Marcus is a bassist, vocalist, pianist, producer, and songwriter for the Grammy Award-winning country music band Rascal Flatts.

Timothy D. Willard has written for publications and organizations such as Catalyst, Win Shape Foundation, The Prison Entrepreneurship Program, and Invisible Ink. He is also pursuing an MA in Christian Thought at Gordon-Conwell Theological Seminary. He lives with his wife and their daughter, Lyric.

Table of Contents

Dear Reader 11

1 First Times 15

2 Coda 25

3 Deep Roots, Rich Soil 35

4 All That and a Sack of Potatoes 49

5 Good-Bye, Columbus 65

6 More Wild Turns 83

7 Scraping By 97

8 Some Beautiful Things Can Crush You 107

9 My Downward Spiral 123

10 Losing My Way 129

11 Fiddle and Steel 149

12 That's Not Going to Work for Me 165

13 Beautiful Winds the Broken Road 187

14 Eternal Sadness of a Satisfied Soul 199

15 Shotgun Angels 215

My Ultimate Hope 225

Acknowledgments 231

Notes 233

Customer Reviews