Skin of the Sea (Barnes & Noble YA Book Club Edition)

Skin of the Sea (Barnes & Noble YA Book Club Edition)

by Natasha Bowen

Hardcover(Barnes & Noble YA Book Club Edition)

$15.19 $18.99 Save 20% Current price is $15.19, Original price is $18.99. You Save 20%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Wednesday, December 1

Overview

Notes From Your Bookseller

Complete with atmospheric world-building and enchanting prose, Skin of the Sea is an utterly unique blend of fantasy, history and West African mythology that will pull readers in from the very first page. Once a human, Simidele now swims the ocean as a Mami Wata — a mermaid — collecting the souls of those who have passed at sea. When she defies the gods by saving the life of a drowning boy, the two embark on a dangerous journey full of the unknown. This stunning debut is a must-read for fans of Children of Blood and Bone.

The Barnes & Noble YA Book Club Edition includes pages from authors notebooks and original author art used as inspiration with annotations from the author.

An unforgettable fantasy debut inspired by West African mythology, this is Children of Blood and Bone meets The Little Mermaid, in which a mermaid takes on the gods themselves.

A way to survive.
A way to serve.
A way to save.

Simi prayed to the gods, once. Now she serves them as Mami Wata—a mermaid—collecting the souls of those who die at sea and blessing their journeys back home.

But when a living boy is thrown overboard, Simi does the unthinkable—she saves his life, going against an ancient decree. And punishment awaits those who dare to defy it.

To protect the other Mami Wata, Simi must journey to the Supreme Creator to make amends. But all is not as it seems. There's the boy she rescued, who knows more than he should. And something is shadowing Simi, something that would rather see her fail. . . .

Danger lurks at every turn, and as Simi draws closer, she must brave vengeful gods, treacherous lands, and legendary creatures. Because if she doesn't, then she risks not only the fate of all Mami Wata, but also the world as she knows it.


Related collections and offers

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780593565056
Publisher: Random House Children's Books
Publication date: 11/02/2021
Series: Skin of the Sea , #1
Edition description: Barnes & Noble YA Book Club Edition
Pages: 336
Sales rank: 3,273
Product dimensions: 5.80(w) x 8.40(h) x 1.30(d)
Lexile: 860L (what's this?)
Age Range: 14 - 17 Years

Customer Reviews