Speed Demon

Speed Demon

by Fred Bowen

Paperback

$6.95
View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details

Overview

Football and track action star in this Sports Story Series book from Washington Post KidsPost columnist and author Fred Bowen – perfect for fans of Mike Lupica and Tim Green.

Eager to find his place at his elite new school, ninth-grader Tim Beeman is torn between running track and trying out for football. Where will he feel most comfortable and be able to put his fast running skills to best use?

When Tim sets a new school record for the fifty-yard dash during the first week of classes, he reveals his special talent: speed. Before long, the track and the football teams are both urging him to join their sport.

Tim is torn. He feels he has a lot to offer the football team and is eager to join this popular group, but he can’t shake a lingering fear of being injured. He would definitely be an asset to the track team, but he is drawn to the more prestigious football team. How can Tim put his talent to the best use and at the same time satisfy his own needs?

Author Fred Bowen tackles relatable dual-athlete struggles of making choices and friendship along with a real conversation about player safety.

Discussion Guide available.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781682630778
Publisher: Peachtree Publishing Company
Publication date: 09/01/2019
Series: Fred Bowen Sports Story Series, 23 , #23
Pages: 144
Sales rank: 806,485
Product dimensions: 5.20(w) x 7.40(h) x 0.40(d)
Lexile: 620L (what's this?)
Age Range: 7 - 12 Years

About the Author

Fred Bowen is a lifelong sports fanatic who has coached youth league baseball, basketball, and soccer. His kids’ sports column “The Score” appears each week in the KidsPost section of the Washington Post.

Customer Reviews