Summer at the Castle Cafe: An utterly perfect feel good romantic comedy

Summer at the Castle Cafe: An utterly perfect feel good romantic comedy

by Donna Ashcroft

Paperback

$9.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, September 25

Overview

IF YOU ONLY READ ONE BOOK THIS SUMMER, MAKE IT SUMMER AT THE CASTLE CAFÉ…



When Alice Appleton escapes to the beautiful seaside town of Castle Cove it’s the change of scenery she didn’t even realise she needed. Taking up a job in the charming Castle Café, Alice finds herself surrounded by cream teas, chocolate cake and quirky characters. Could this be the perfect place for Alice to embrace the summer?



Mysterious and handsome Jay O’Donnell has lived in picturesque Castle Cove since he was a child. As a volunteer on the lifeboats, his days by the sea are far from predictable. Haunted by a tragedy from his past, he’s on a mission to save as many people as possible. But when Alice Appleton walks into his life - and turns his world upside down - he begins to realise that perhaps it might just be his turn to be rescued…



As Alice and Jay find themselves unexpectedly falling for each other, will they learn the importance of letting go to make way for second chances? And will Alice find the life she’s always dreamed of in Castle Cove?



Heart-warming, hilarious and utterly romantic, Summer at the Castle Café is perfect for fans of Debbie Johnson, Lucy Diamond and Phillipa Ashley.



What readers are saying about Summer at the Castle Café:



'OMG! A stunning debut, this gorgeous book invites ever reader to escape to Castle Cove to follow their dreams!' Erin Green



Amazing… reminded me of Holly Martin… I felt like I was instantly transported to the cafe and to the beautiful seaside town of Castle Cove… the perfect summer novel… from the start you'll be engulfed with delicious sounding food, lovely surroundings and delightful characters.’ The Cosiest Corner, 5 stars



'Warm, funny and sparky - I LOVED this summer romance!' Jules Wake



Wow! A beautiful setting, appealing characters and an intriguing story. A delightful new voice.’ Katie Fforde.



Heart-warming, funny, realistic and very romantic. Highly recommend reading this and worth far more than the five stars.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars



‘A delightful book of romance and summer… Truly a feel-good, satisfying read.’ Consumer Review



A feel-good romance… I would definitely recommend this book.’ Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars



Wonderful… summer holiday read… perfect for the beach!’ Goodreads Reviewer

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781786813718
Publisher: StoryFire LTD
Publication date: 05/11/2018
Pages: 332
Product dimensions: 5.06(w) x 7.81(h) x 0.69(d)

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Summer at the Castle Cafe: An utterly perfect feel good romantic comedy 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
BananaTricky More than 1 year ago
Alice Appleton has moved to Castle Cove, Dorset following the death of her mother unexpectedly. Her mother's death has been a huge wake-up call and she realises that her life has become very narrow, she was too busy with her work in a busy restaurant to visit her mother until it was too late. Now she has big plans, to run the annual Castle Cove marathon in honour of her mother and to visit her father in Thailand. If only she could get over her pesky fear of the sea. Jay O'Donnell has lived in Castle Cove practically his entire life. A carpenter and a volunteer with the lifeboats he is constantly disappointed by the risks people take with their lives, swimming and sailing when the sea is too rough. When he sees a woman in a wet suit at the water's edge when the sea is far too choppy for swimming he can't help but express his exasperation. The next day he can't believe it when he sees the same woman riding a bicycle without any lights through the countryside, in order to keep her safe he follows slowly behind her allowing his headlights to light the road for her. Poor Alice is standing at the water's edge desperately trying to get up the courage to get her toes wet when an incredibly sexy man starts yelling at her and won't listen to anything she has to say. The following day she is nearly run off the road on her bicycle by the same man who followed her all the way to work, scaring her half to death. Despite their inauspicious start Jay and Alice are also attracted to each other, but they each have their own issues to deal with which could easily tear them apart. I was in a real reading slump, starting lots of books and giving them up half-way but this book lifted me right out. What's not to love about an OCD waitress and a carpenter who wants to save everyone falling in love in a small Devon town? If you like the idea of cosy communities where everyone gathers at the local pub for food, live music and gossip, where school friends live and work closely together, and where the local postman can tell you the contents of your mail before you open it - then this is definitely for you! I received a free copy of this book from the publisher via NetGalley in return for an honest review.