SuperSense: Why We Believe in the Unbelievable

SuperSense: Why We Believe in the Unbelievable

by Bruce M. Hood
5.0 2

Hardcover

$21.21 $25.99 Save 18% Current price is $21.21, Original price is $25.99. You Save 18%.
View All Available Formats & Editions

Temporarily Out of Stock Online

Eligible for FREE SHIPPING

Overview

SuperSense: Why We Believe in the Unbelievable by Bruce M. Hood

“In an account chock full of real-world examples reinforced by experimental research, Hood’s marvelous book is an important contribution to the psychological literature that is revealing the actuality of our very irrational human nature.” — Science

In the vein of Malcolm Gladwell’s Blink, Mary Roach’s Spook, and Dan Ariely’s Predictably Irrational, The Science of Superstition uses hard science to explain pervasive irrational beliefs and behaviors: from the superstitious rituals of sports stars, to the depreciated value of houses where murders were committed, to the adoration of Elvis.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780061452642
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date: 04/07/2009
Pages: 320
Product dimensions: 6.40(w) x 9.10(h) x 1.30(d)

About the Author

BRUCE HOOD is the author of The Science of Superstition and is one of the leading international authorities on child development and supernatural thinking in adults. He has a PhD from the University of Cambridge and has been a faculty member at UCL and Harvard and was a visiting scientist at MIT. He is currently the chair of developmental psychology at Bristol University in England and director of the Bristol Cognitive Development Centre. Born in Toronto, he now lives in Bristol, England.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

SuperSense: Why We Believe in the Unbelievable 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 2 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was a real page turner full of funny, witty and amazing examples. I couldn't put it down and was pleasantly surprised that it was such a good read despite not being an expert in the field of Neuroscience. It clearly outlines why we continue to have superstitious, including religious beliefs, in spite of evidence to the contrary and the attempt by many to "educate" us out of these fundamental and necessary thought processes. If you found the God Delusion a must read, you will find Supersense an equally essential part of your library! This book should be read by skeptics and believers alike, everyone will find themselves looking back from the pages!