Taking Up Space

Taking Up Space

by Alyson Gerber

Hardcover

$15.99 $17.99 Save 11% Current price is $15.99, Original price is $17.99. You Save 11%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Monday, January 31

Overview

From beloved author Alyson Gerber comes another realistic contemporary novel perfect for fans of Judy Blume.

Sarah loves basketball more than anything. Crushing it on the court makes her feel like she matters. And it's the only thing that helps her ignore how much it hurts when her mom forgets to feed her.

But lately Sarah can't even play basketball right. She's slower now and missing shots she should be able to make. Her body doesn't feel like it's her own anymore. She's worried that changing herself back to how she used to be is the only way she can take control over what's happening.

When Sarah's crush asks her to be partners in a cooking competition, she feels pulled in a million directions. She'll have to dig deep to stand up for what she needs at home, be honest with her best friends, and accept that she doesn't need to change to feel good about herself.

Booklist described Gerber's novels in starred reviews as both "highly empathetic" and "truly inspiring." Taking Up Space promises to be a realistic and compelling story about struggling with body image and learning that true self-esteem comes from within.



Related collections and offers

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781338186000
Publisher: Scholastic, Inc.
Publication date: 05/18/2021
Pages: 272
Sales rank: 131,902
Product dimensions: 5.40(w) x 8.20(h) x 1.20(d)
Lexile: 690L (what's this?)
Age Range: 8 - 12 Years

About the Author

Alyson Gerber is the author of critically acclaimed, own-voices novels Braced and Focused. She is a graduate of The New School’s MFA in Writing for Children and lives in Brooklyn, New York, with her husband and daughter. Visit her at alysongerber.com and find her everywhere else at @alysongerber.

Customer Reviews