Thank You, Omu!

Thank You, Omu!

by Oge Mora

Hardcover

$15.19 $18.99 Save 20% Current price is $15.19, Original price is $18.99. You Save 20%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, August 28

Overview

A 2019 Caldecott Honor Book
Winner of the Coretta Scott King/John Steptoe New Talent Illustrator Award

In this
remarkable author-illustrator debut that's perfect for fans of Last Stop on Market Street and Extra Yarn, a generous woman is rewarded by her community.

Everyone in the neighborhood dreams of a taste of Omu's delicious stew! One by one, they follow their noses toward the scrumptious scent. And one by one, Omu offers a portion of her meal. Soon the pot is empty. Has she been so generous that she has nothing left for herself?

Debut author-illustrator Oge Mora brings to life a heartwarming story of sharing and community in colorful cut-paper designs as luscious as Omu's stew, with an extra serving of love. An author's note explains that "Omu" (pronounced AH-moo) means "queen" in the Igbo language of her parents, but growing up, she used it to mean "Grandma." This book was inspired by the strong female role models in Oge Mora's life.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780316431248
Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Publication date: 10/02/2018
Pages: 40
Sales rank: 25,583
Product dimensions: 9.10(w) x 11.10(h) x 0.40(d)
Age Range: 4 - 8 Years

About the Author

Oge Mora graduated from the Rhode Island School of Design with a BFA in illustration. When not painting in her studio, Oge is in the kitchen cooking her late grandmother's recipes. Her first picture book, Thank You, Omu!, was a Caldecott Honor, a New York Times Notable Book and Editors' Choice, and a Junior Library Guild selection. She lives in Providence, Rhode Island, and invites you to visit her website at www.ogemora.com.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Thank You, Omu! 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 2 reviews.
ReaderWriterEducator 7 months ago
This is such a sweet, lovely book with a simple, pure message about generosity and gratitude. It’s a book for everyone, goes straight to the heart, and feels like a traditional tale. The paper collage illustrations add an interesting dimension. Enjoy! It will leave you feeling like you’ve had a bowl of Omu’s delicious stew.
Sandy5 More than 1 year ago
Wow, that is a happy, good feeling book! It definitely put a smile on my face! As Omu reads a book, she lets the thick, red stew that she just made for her dinner simmer on the stove. Soon, she gets a knock on the door and it’s a visitor who has smelled her delicious stew from down the hallway. Omu offers the small boy some of her stew which he eats (picture shows him licking the bowl). All day long, the stew simmers on the stove, the delicious smell soaring through the air, drifting over the city. Omu has quite a few grateful visitors during the day. It’s dinnertime and when she takes the lid off the pot, Omu is in for a surprise. I liked the facial expressions and the vocabulary that was used in this children’s book. The illustrations themselves, were very colorful and festive but the expressions did an excellent job conveying their feelings. Using everyday words with complex words, I liked the book’s language. The characters showed great etiquette to each other. A great book to share.