The Animal Man

The Animal Man

by David McDine

Paperback

$10.99
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Friday, October 26?   Order by 12:00 PM Eastern and choose Expedited Shipping at checkout.

Overview

The Animal Man by David McDine

Animal-mad, people-shy civil servant Norman Butcher cuts loose when his widowed mother dies leaving him a sizeable nest-egg and ramshackle Olive Branch Farm.
At last he can realise his lifelong ambition - to liberate circus animals and let them roam free.
Then uninvited visits from a wily poacher and an officious planning officer set off a chain reaction that catapults him into the headlines.
Under siege with the press, police and student protestors up to farcical antics at his gates, he finds love at last.
But can he extricate himself from all the unwanted attention, tiptoe through the legal minefield and keep his beloved animals - and his new love?
Set in the unsophisticated 1960s, The Animal Man is a funny, touching story of one man's battle to throw off the shackles of his humdrum, loveless past and follow his dream.
This debut novel by Kent author David McDine is sure to appeal to fans of Alexander McCall Smith, P.G. Wodehouse and Evelyn Waugh.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781540662521
Publisher: CreateSpace Publishing
Publication date: 01/08/2017
Pages: 246
Product dimensions: 5.00(w) x 8.00(h) x 0.52(d)

About the Author

David McDine is a former journalist and member of the Government Information Service and lives with his wife Sue on a Kent smallholding where, over the years, they have kept children, horses, sheep, rabbits, chickens, dogs, cats and fish - but, as yet, no giraffes or kangaroos. He writes historical books and The Animal man is his first venture into humorous fiction.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews