The Burger Chef Murders in Indiana

The Burger Chef Murders in Indiana

by Julie Young


View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


The evening of November 17, 1978, should have been like any other for the four young crewmembers closing the Burger Chef at 5725 Crawfordsville Road in Speedway, Indiana. After serving customers and locking the doors for the night, the kids began their regular cleanup to ready the restaurant for the following day. But then something went horribly wrong. Just before midnight, someone muscled into the place, robbed the store of $581 and kidnapped the four employees. Over the next two days, investigators searched in vain for the missing crewmembers before their bodies were discovered more than twenty miles away. The killer or killers were never caught. Join Julie Young on an exploration of one of the most baffling cold cases in Indiana history.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781467143080
Publisher: Arcadia Publishing SC
Publication date: 07/01/2019
Series: True Crime
Pages: 144
Sales rank: 292,337
Product dimensions: 5.90(w) x 8.90(h) x 0.40(d)

About the Author

Julie Young is an award-winning writer and author who has written several books on Indiana history, including Famous Faces of WTTV-4, Eastside Indianapolis: A Brief History, CYO in Indianapolis and Central Indiana and Historic Irvington. She is also the author of two books for the Idiot's Guide series and the YA novel Fifteen Minutes of Fame. She lives near Indianapolis with her family.

Table of Contents

Acknowledgements 7

Author's Note 9

Names Associated with the Burger Chef Murder Case 11

Chapter 1 An Exceptional Crew 15

Chapter 2 A Robbery Gone Wrong? 20

Chapter 3 Into the Woods 31

Chapter 4 Front-Page News 40

Chapter 5 Sympathy and Support 49

Chapter 6 Leads, Look-Alikes and a Lot of Dead Ends 60

Chapter 7 A New Year 69

Chapter 8 Siblings, Sources and Several New Suspects 78

Chapter 9 An Inmate with Information 86

Chapter 10 A Confession at Last? 95

Chapter 11 Forrester Recants 102

Chapter 12 The Years Go By 110

Chapter 13 Open but Inactive 119

Epilogue 129

Bibliography 137

About the Author 143

Customer Reviews