The Chosen Queen

The Chosen Queen

by Joanna Courtney

NOOK Book(eBook)

$7.49 $8.18 Save 8% Current price is $7.49, Original price is $8.18. You Save 8%.
Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
Want a NOOK ? Explore Now

Overview

The Chosen Queen by Joanna Courtney

1066. Three Queens. One Crown.

As a young woman in England's royal court, Edyth, granddaughter of Lady Godiva, dreams of marrying for love. But political matches are rife while King Edward is still without an heir and the future of England is uncertain.

When Edyth's family are exiled to the wild Welsh court, she falls in love with the charismatic King of Wales - but their romance comes at a price and she is catapulted onto the opposing side of a bitter feud with England. Edyth's only allies are Earl Harold Godwinson and his handfasted wife, Lady Svana.

As the years pass, Edyth finds herself elevated to a position beyond even her greatest expectations. She enjoys both power and wealth but as her star rises the lines of love and duty become more blurred than she could ever have imagined. As 1066 dawns, Edyth is asked to make an impossible choice. Her decision is one that has the power to change the future of England forever . . .

The first book in The Queens of Conquest series, The Chosen Queen by Joanna Courtney is the perfect blend of history, fast-paced plot and sweeping romance with a cast of strong female characters - an unforgettable read. Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Chadwick and Philippa Gregory.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781447280774
Publisher: Pan Macmillan
Publication date: 05/07/2015
Series: Queens of Conquest
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
Sales rank: 308,251
File size: 1 MB
Age Range: 18 Years

About the Author

Joanna Courtney has wanted to be a writer ever since she could read. As a child she was rarely to be seen without her head in a book and she was also quick to pick up a pen. After spending endless hours entertaining her siblings with made up stories, it was no surprise when Joanna pursued her passion for books during her time at Cambridge University – where she combined her love of English and History by specializing in Medieval Literature.

Joanna continued to write through her first years of work and then, married and living in Derbyshire, in the sparse hours available between raising four children. She has written over 200 stories and serials published in women's magazines, some of which have been broadcast on BBC radio. Joanna has also won several fiction prizes and written and directed an award-winning play. She teaches creative writing across the country and for the Open University.

Joanna is fascinated by defining moments in history, of which the Battle of Hastings is certainly one. The outcome of that momentous day is one of the big 'what-ifs?' of England's past and she has loved being able to immerse herself in the world of the Anglo-Saxons, Normans and Vikings whilst writing The Queens of Conquest trilogy.


Joanna Courtney has wanted to be a writer ever since she could read. Joanna is fascinated by defining moments in history and she loves nothing more than immersing herself in the world of Anglo-Saxons, Normans and Vikings.

She is the author of the Queens of Conquest trilogy, which begins with The Chosen Queen.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews