The Derby Daredevils: Kenzie Kickstarts a Team: (The Derby Daredevils Book #1)

The Derby Daredevils: Kenzie Kickstarts a Team: (The Derby Daredevils Book #1)

The Derby Daredevils: Kenzie Kickstarts a Team: (The Derby Daredevils Book #1)

The Derby Daredevils: Kenzie Kickstarts a Team: (The Derby Daredevils Book #1)

Hardcover

$14.99 
  • SHIP THIS ITEM
    Qualifies for Free Shipping
    Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Wednesday, December 13
  • PICK UP IN STORE
    Check Availability at Nearby Stores

Related collections and offers


Overview

“This a great pick about fierce young ladies coming together through sports. The book has loads of action and plenty of heart.” —Booklist, starred review

“Perfect for fans of Victoria Jamieson’s Roller Girl, and readers seeking stories about sports-loving girls supporting each other.” —School Library Journal, starred review

Kit Rosewater and Sophie Escabasse’s The Derby Daredevils: Kenzie Kickstarts a Team is the first novel in a highly illustrated middle-grade series that celebrates new friendships, first crushes, and getting out of your comfort zone.

Ever since they can remember, fifth-graders Kenzie (aka Kenzilla) and Shelly (aka Bomb Shell) have dreamed of becoming roller derby superstars. When Austin’s city league introduces a brand-new junior league, the dynamic duo celebrates! But they’ll need to try out as a five-person team. Kenzie and Shelly have just one week to convince three other girls that roller derby is the coolest thing on wheels.

But Kenzie starts to have second thoughts when Shelly starts acting like everyone’s best friend. . . . Isn’t she supposed to be Kenzie’s best friend? And things get really awkward when Shelly recruits Kenzie’s neighbor (and secret crush!) for the team. With lots of humor and an authentic middle-grade voice, book one of this illustrated series follows Kenzie, Shelly, and the rest of the Derby Daredevils as they learn how to fall—and get back up again.

Also Available:
The Derby Daredevils: Shelly Struggles to Shine
The Derby Daredevils: Tomoko Takes the Lead

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781419740794
Publisher: Amulet Books
Publication date: 03/24/2020
Series: Derby Daredevils , #1
Pages: 176
Sales rank: 1,153,578
Product dimensions: 8.10(w) x 5.50(h) x 0.70(d)
Age Range: 8 - 12 Years

About the Author


Kit Rosewater has a master’s degree in children’s literature from Hollins University. The Derby Daredevils is her debut book. She lives in Albuquerque, New Mexico.
From the B&N Reads Blog

Customer Reviews