The Dhamira and Curio Gift Shop - Volume One

The Dhamira and Curio Gift Shop - Volume One

by David Boyd

NOOK Book(eBook)


Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details


David T. Boyd returns with The Dhamira Curio and Gift Shop – Volume One, a unique and eclectic tapestry of heartfelt tributes and masterful storytelling centered around Tom Gannon, a celebrated African-American archaeologist from the Bronzeville neighborhood of Chicago's south side. After participating in years of successful archaeological digs in Tanzania, Kenya and Mozambique, Mr. Gannon returns to Chicago with many of his artifacts and starts a family. Shortly thereafter he opens The Dhamira Curio and Gift Shop based on the Kiswahili word Dhamira, meaning "conscience." Mr. Gannon truly believed in the concept of Dhamira and often said to friends: "if we come to understand that everything has a soul, a conscience, then mankind would strive to respect ALL aspects of life, not merely that which concerns us." After his untimely death, the spirit of Mr. Gannon lives on through the unsold items of his store. Customers enter his "place of business" and purchase gifts that unknowingly have an impact on their personal life journey. Will the customers use their symbol of "conscience" as a source of enlightenment or a conduit of evil? Only time will tell...

Product Details

BN ID: 2940150847651
Publisher: Another Shore Press, LLC
Publication date: 11/17/2015
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
File size: 263 KB

About the Author

David T. Boyd was born and raised in Chicago, Illinois, but now lives in Brooklyn, New York. The Dhamiro Curio and Gift Shop is his release. Mr. Boyd graduated from St. Ignatius College Preparatory in Chicago, received his Bachelor of Arts in English from SUNY Empire State College and a Master of Fine Arts in Creative Writing from The City College of New York. Besides writing, Mr. Boyd loves to exercise, discuss politics and tell everyone why Chicago is the center of the universe. His four previous books - Falling Down, Mystery, Malevolence & Murder Volume One, Sammy’s Carol and Mystery, Malevolence & Murder Volume Two - are available through Amazon, Barnes & Noble, as well as his official website,

Customer Reviews