The Earth Is Weeping: The Epic Story of the Indian Wars for the American West

The Earth Is Weeping: The Epic Story of the Indian Wars for the American West

by Peter Cozzens


$17.99 $20.00 Save 10% Current price is $17.99, Original price is $20. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Winner of the Gilder Lehrman Prize for Military History
Winner of the 2017 Caroline Bancroft History Prize
Shortlisted for the Military History Magazine Book of the Year Award

After the Civil War the Indian Wars would last more than three decades, permanently altering the physical and political landscape of America. Peter Cozzens gives us both sides in comprehensive and singularly intimate detail. He illuminates the intertribal strife over whether to fight or make peace; explores the dreary, squalid lives of frontier soldiers and the imperatives of the Indian warrior culture; and describes the ethical quandaries faced by generals who often sympathized with their native enemies. In dramatically relating bloody and tragic events as varied as Wounded Knee, the Nez Perce War, the Sierra Madre campaign, and the Battle of the Little Bighorn, we encounter a pageant of fascinating characters, including Custer, Sherman, Grant, and a host of officers, soldiers, and Indian agents, as well as great native leaders such as Crazy Horse, Sitting Bull, Geronimo, and Red Cloud and the warriors they led.

The Earth Is Weeping is a sweeping, definitive history of the battles and negotiations that destroyed the Indian way of life even as they paved the way for the emergence of the United States we know today.

A Smithsonian Top History Book of 2016
A Times (UK) Book of the Year

Finalist for the Western Writers of America 2017 Spur Award in Best Western Historical Nonfiction

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780307948182
Publisher: Knopf Doubleday Publishing Group
Publication date: 09/05/2017
Edition description: Reprint
Pages: 592
Sales rank: 76,869
Product dimensions: 6.10(w) x 8.70(h) x 1.20(d)

About the Author

PETER COZZENS is the author or editor of seventeen acclaimed books on the American Civil War and the Indian Wars of the American West, and a member of the Advisory Council of the Lincoln Prize. In 2002 he was awarded the American Foreign Service Association's highest honor, the William R. Rivkin Award, given annually to one Foreign Service Officer for exemplary moral courage, integrity, and creative dissent.

Read an Excerpt

chapter 1

Excerpted from "The Earth Is Weeping"
by .
Copyright © 2017 Peter Cozzens.
Excerpted by permission of Knopf Doubleday Publishing Group.
All rights reserved. No part of this excerpt may be reproduced or reprinted without permission in writing from the publisher.
Excerpts are provided by Dial-A-Book Inc. solely for the personal use of visitors to this web site.

Table of Contents

List of Maps xi

Chronology xix

Prologue: Our Children Sometimes Behave Badly 3

Part 1

Chapter 1 The Plains Aflame 13

Chapter 2 Red Cloud's War 32

Chapter 3 Warrior and Soldier 47

Chapter 4 Hancock's War 64

Chapter 5 The Last Treaty 76

Chapter 6 Of Garryowen in Glory 93

Chapter 7 The Bloody Policy of Peace 112

Part 2

Chapter 8 Tragedy in the Lava Beds 137

Chapter 9 The Buffalo War 155

Chapter 10 No Rest, No Peace 174

Chapter 11 Sitting Bull and Crazy Horse 191

Chapter 12 The Thieves' Road 208

Chapter 13 Guard Us Against All Misfortune 221

Chapter 14 Last Stand 249

Chapter 15 The Great Father's Fury 270

Chapter 16 A Warrior I Have Been 299

Part 3

Chapter 17 I Will Fight No More Forever 315

Chapter 18 The Utes Must Go! 341

Chapter 19 Return to Apacheria 358

Chapter 20 Like So Many Vultures, Greedy for Blood 380

Chapter 21 Once I Moved Like the Wind 400

Part 4

Chapter 22 A Clash of Visions 419

Chapter 23 The Place of the Big Killings 442

Acknowledgments 469

Notes 471

Bibliography 503

Index 525

Customer Reviews