This item is not eligible for coupon offers.

The Forest of Stars

The Forest of Stars

by Heather Kassner

Hardcover

$12.19 $16.99 Save 28% Current price is $12.19, Original price is $16.99. You Save 28%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Available for Pre-Order. This item will be available on August 4, 2020

Overview

In this mysterious and mesmerizing fantasy novel, perfect for fans of Splendor and Glooms and Circus Mirandus, a windswept girl who can float among the stars searches for her long-lost father at a shadow-filled carnival.

Left all alone after her mother passes away, twelve-year-old Louisa LaRoche watches the sky for her father. Long ago, a powerful gust of wind swept through town, stealing him away on the wings of his untamed magic—the same magic that stirs within Louisa. As if she is made of hollow bones and too much air, her feet never quite touch the ground.

But for all her sky gazing, Louisa finds her fortune on the leaf-strewn street when she spots a gleaming black-and-gold invitation—a ticket to the Carnival Beneath the Stars. If her father fits in nowhere else, maybe she’ll find him there, dazzling crowds alongside the other strange and wonderful feats. Only, soon after she arrives, a tightrope act ends disastrously—and suspiciously. As fate tugs Louisa closer to the stars, she must decide if she’s willing to slip into the injured performer’s role, despite the darkness plucking at the carnival’s magical threads.

In The Forest of Stars, Heather Kassner weaves a spectacle of wondrous magic, unexpected friendship, and dark secrets.

"A dark and dazzling tale, glistening with marvels, mysteries and the magic of friendship." —Sophie Anderson, author of The House with Chicken Legs

"A sparkling tale about grief, hope, and found families. The magic of this book will touch your heart and send it soaring." —Amanda Foody, author of Ace of Shades

"A heartfelt, hopeful novel . . . that fans of Catherynne Valente will love." —Hayley Chewins, author of The Turnaway Girls

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781250297006
Publisher: Henry Holt and Co. (BYR)
Publication date: 08/04/2020
Pages: 288
Product dimensions: 5.38(w) x 8.25(h) x (d)
Age Range: 8 - 12 Years

About the Author

Heather Kassner loves thunderstorms, hummingbirds, and books. She lives with her husband in Arizona, waiting (and waiting and waiting) for the rain, photographing hummingbirds, and reading and writing strange little stories. She is also the author The Bone Garden. Follow her on Twitter @HeatherKassner.