The Girl With No Past

The Girl With No Past

by Kathryn Croft

Paperback

$11.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Friday, October 25

Overview

Fourteen years running from your past. Today it catches up.

A gripping psychological thriller for fans of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train.

Leah Mills lives a life of a fugitive - kept on the run by one terrible day from her past. It is a lonely life, without a social life or friends until - longing for a connection - she meets Julian. For the first time she dares to believe she can live a normal life.

Then, on the fourteenth anniversary of that day, she receives a card. Someone knows the truth about what happened. Someone who won't stop until they've destroyed the life Leah has created.

But is Leah all she seems? Or does she deserve everything she gets?

Everyone has secrets. But some are deadly.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781910751244
Publisher: StoryFire LTD
Publication date: 10/02/2015
Pages: 302
Sales rank: 424,104
Product dimensions: 5.10(w) x 7.70(h) x 0.70(d)

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Girl With No Past 3.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 5 reviews.
jojosmodernlife More than 1 year ago
Leah Mills has a life under the radar without friends, partners, or hardly any activity at all. Her only companion is the shame from a traumatic event that happened years ago that has haunted her ever since. She has her quiet job then goes home to her quiet apartment and quietly reads every quiet night of her quiet life. Get the picture? But one day, she decides she's had enough of the loneliness and quiet, so she tries an online dating chat website in the hopes of communicating with people she would never meet. Little does she know, this opens Pandora's Box. This book jumps from the plot of what happened leading up to the traumatic event in high school to coping with adulthood with the weight of the guilt from that horrific night. This was a bit frustrating for me as a reader because her modern-day adult life was mundane and the idea that she is miserable and alone is beat into the reader's head. When the story flashes back to her time in high school, she also has that teenage angst of being misunderstood and left behind. The book was so melancholy that it was hard for me to read too much of it at one time. It was also confusing at times with the present day as she reaches out to people from her past because they kept talking about how awful she is without much support. I understand it is the suspense of what actually happened but it, at times, felt like it exaggerated the concept that everyone hated her. It is not until the last 10%-15% of the book that the reader discovers what happened that night but, even then, the reason for her constant rejection by others is not clear until the very last chapter of the book. However, what does happen does clear a lot of things up (except for how is she not imprisoned? Surely with certain details it would be clear that it was intentional?). The last thing I did not like: the title. I'm not really sure what it has to do with anything. It seemed like perhaps it would be about someone in the Witness Protection Program or someone with amnesia, but neither apply and it doesn't seem to fit at all. All in all, I don't hate the book, but I don't want to rave about how great it is either. It's a book that I am glad that I finished, however, for those that did not finish it-I get it. It definitely drags and is confusing, especially at the beginning. I would not recommend this book for those who may be offended or triggered by the following: violence, murder, rape, sexually suggestive scenarios, stalking, bullying, or foul language. Please note: an electronic ARC of this book was generously provided by the publisher via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. (Sorry it took me almost 3 years to read it!)
BuckeyeAngel More than 1 year ago
Leah has ran away from her past. Leah now works at a library. Her job is her life: no friends, no family. Leah, starting looking for romantic, looks on the internet but things go south as she gets a card and threatening emails. I like this story a lot. I usually don’t like going back and forth but with this particular story it was ok it brought the book together. All the twists and turns Leah went through. Also the suspense all through the story. I also liked the plot and of course the characters. I recommend. **I received an ARC of this story for an honest review
eternalised More than 1 year ago
It seems the opinions on this book are divided, but I’m fairly in the “I love this” camp. The back and forth between past and present works surprisingly well, and I could really connect to the main character, and understand most of her motivations. The author kept me guessing until the end, and overall, this was an amazing reading experience. I received a free copy in exchange for an honest review.
Deb-Krenzer More than 1 year ago
3.5 Stars I was a little disappointed with this one. While there were several thrilling scenes, the history kept bugging me. If this girl had no past, why did she need a therapist? And why did she hate the town she grew up in? Why was someone threatening her? I think the title just really messed with my mind while reading this story. Because she did have a past and it was a horrible past. The writing was done well and the characters were well developed. I just had a problem with the thriller part as to why someone was doing all of this to her. I mean these were some outlandish, really thought out tricks. Then when I heard the history it all came together. Maybe that is what the author intended. I enjoyed reading the book and was entertained so possibly I am criticizing something the author had planned to begin with, so the jokes on me. Ha!! I just didn't find it gripping throughout the whole book, however as the blurbs would suggest. It was rather slow until about halfway. Then it picked up and was a much better book for me as the thriller part really began to take off. And when it did, then the blurbs were worth their weight. The history part was really shocking! I think the title and the blurbs took off a half star for me. It really wasn't a bad book, it just took a while to get into it. I would like to thank Bookouture and Net Galley for this free e-galley in exchange for an honest review. As I said, it took a while for the thriller part, but it was worth it if your willing to wait
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Jjjo