The Governess Club: Sara

The Governess Club: Sara

by Ellie Macdonald

NOOK Book(eBook)

$1.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
Want a NOOK ? Explore Now

Overview

The Governess Club: Sara by Ellie Macdonald

For fans of Christina Dodd and Elizabeth Boyle.

Sweet Sara Collins is one of the founding members of the Governess Club. But she has a secret: She doesn't love teaching. She'd much prefer to be a vicar's wife and help the local community. But this quiet mouse doesn't want to upset her friends, and she resolves to help in whatever ways she can.

Nathan Grant is the embodiment of everything that frightens Sara. Which is why she can't understand why the handsome but reclusive and gruff man is so fascinating to her. When Sara decides it's time to take a chance and experience all that life has to offer, Nathan is the first person she thinks of.

Will Sara's walk on the wild side ruin her chances at a simple, happy life? Or has she just opened the door to a once-in-a-lifetime chance at passion?

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780062292261
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date: 09/02/2014
Series: Governess Club , #3
Sold by: HARPERCOLLINS
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 352
Sales rank: 114,354
File size: 944 KB

About the Author

Ellie Macdonald has held several jobs beginning with the letter T: taxi driver, telemarketer, and, most recently, teacher. She is thankful her interests have shifted to writing instead of taxidermy or tornado chasing. Having traveled to five different continents, she has swum with elephants, scuba dived through coral mazes, visited a leper colony, and climbed waterfalls and windmills, but her favorite place remains Regency England. She currently lives in Ontario, Canada. The Governess Club series is her first published work.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Governess Club: Sara 3.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 4 reviews.
WorldsCollide More than 1 year ago
Another lovely book in The Governess Club series, The Governess Club: Sara was an enjoyable romance. I didn't like it as much as the others, but I still thought it was a good read. Sara was a great character. She was cripplingly shy, her upbringing making her intensely anxious in any kind of conflict. Because of this, she was often overlooked and overrun by stronger personalities. But, over the course of the book, she slowly faced her fears and was eventually able to make her own way. I thought she was a wonderful heroine. Nathan, I was a bit conflicted about. I mean, there's really no nice way to say it. He could really be an ass. But, he did have his good moments, where he helped Sara come out of her shell. The thing is, I never felt like he earned his own merit as a character and he honestly would have lost his chance at happiness with the way he was acting, had Sara not finally taken the first step. I didn't exactly dislike him, but he wasn't my favorite hero. The romance, despite my issue with Nathan, was nice. They were well matched, with Nathan's brashness helping pull Sara out of her shell. They made each other better, which really made the romance work. And, they definitely had some chemistry. Overall, I thought they were a lovely couple. The plot moved quickly and I was kept interested the entire way through. I wasn't a fan of the inclusion of the vicar who was Sara's suitor. He was a very kind and likable man and he didn't deserve to be humiliated in the way he was. But, other than that, I enjoyed the story and the ending had me curious about what would happen in Louisa's story. The Governess Club: Sara was a quick, enjoyable read. It wasn't perfect, but I did like it overall. Romance lovers, this might be a book you'll want to check out. *I received a complimentary copy from the publisher in exchange for an honest review
MTSmith More than 1 year ago
Sara lives a life consumed with anxiety and obedience. Her mother's screeching voice echoes in her mind each time she does or thinks something "wrong". The penance she seeks after such errors made my heart weep, and I kept wishing for someone to see what she did, for someone to tell her she did nothing wrong. She had her friends, but they knew nothing of the workings of her mind. They only knew she suffered panic attacks and did what they could--in two three four, out two three four--to help her through those. But the reason for those attacks? She hid herself well even from those who loved her. Nathan arrives in Taft to hide. He gave up his political career after one particular bribe opened his eyes to the lengths some men would go to gain a vote. He arrives in Taft world-weary and wary of his fellow man. He has no use for the people of Taft, especially the vicar who accompanies Sara on an unexpected and unwelcome visit to Nathan's new home, Windent Hall. Sara though, she intrigues him immensely. She's quiet and sweet, the opposite of him completely, but there is something about her that calls to him, something about her that makes him want her in the most primitive of ways. I adored Sara's strength when she propositioned Nathan. It took guts, and I honestly didn't think she had it in her to say it and go through with it. But she did, and the time she spent with Nathan was enlightening and encouraging to read. Sometimes it takes the right man to show a woman how strong she really is. Sometimes it takes the right woman to show a man how honorable he really is. Nathan and Sara were that for each other. Their happy ending was well-deserved, was worth the misunderstandings they endured, even if one almost cost them their chance at a happy ending. They grew and changed throughout the story, falling in lust then love with each other before they knew what was happening. The differences in them from beginning to end were immense, but it was nice to see how their love for each other didn't fix their problems. Sara still had panic attacks. Nathan was still wary of others. But that was okay because they had they each other and that was enough to make it through whatever they would face in the future. ***Received from Edelweiss via Tasty Book Tours for an honest review***
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
While looking for books to read, I came across this book. Read the sample, then purchased it. I thoroughly enjoyed the book, so much that I have gone back to purchase the other books in the series.