The Governess Club: Louisa

The Governess Club: Louisa

by Ellie Macdonald

NOOK Book(eBook)

$3.99
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Overview

For fans of Christina Dodd and Elizabeth Boyle.

Louisa Brockhurst is on the run—from her friends, from her family, even from her dream of independence through the Governess Club. But sometimes it's easier for her to hide from those she loves in order to escape the secrets of her past.

Handsome but menacing John Taylor is a prizefighter-turned-innkeeper who is trying to make his way in society. When Louisa shows up at his doorstep, he's quick to accept her offer to help—at a price. He knows that she's hiding something, and he can't help his protective instincts toward the beautiful woman.

Their attraction grows, but will headstrong, fiery Louisa ever trust the surprisingly kind John enough to tell him the dangerous secrets from her past that keep her running? Or will the power of her feelings scare her into running yet again?

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780062292285
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date: 10/07/2014
Series: The Governess Club , #4
Sold by: HARPERCOLLINS
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 304
Sales rank: 105,421
File size: 966 KB

About the Author

Ellie Macdonald has held several jobs beginning with the letter T: taxi driver, telemarketer, and, most recently, teacher. She is thankful her interests have shifted to writing instead of taxidermy or tornado chasing. Having traveled to five different continents, she has swum with elephants, scuba dived through coral mazes, visited a leper colony, and climbed waterfalls and windmills, but her favorite place remains Regency England. She currently lives in Ontario, Canada. The Governess Club series is her first published work.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Governess Club: Louisa 2.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 4 reviews.
MTSmith More than 1 year ago
Louisa wasn't the easiest heroine to like. She was cold, distant, and abrasive. The hard facade she presented to the world shielded her secrets from one and all, but it didn't hide the passionate woman she was. That woman appeared more often than not. That woman took my breath away. Her strength and competence shone bright in those moments, and it helped soften her hard edges a lot. Man, oh, man, did Ms. Macdonald write Louisa the perfect hero though. A lesser man would have hurt her physically or emotionally or verbally for pretty much anything she did. But John... What an amazing man. A former pugilist with a heart of gold, gentle words, and a tender touch, he exhibited an infinite amount a patience and understanding with Louisa. An example of this is when he showed her how to nail shingles to a roof. It's not a romantic moment, but it made me smile and it showed a lot about his character. John and Louisa's romance was a wonder to watch happen, but not as much as the change that happened to Louisa when her past caught up to her and her secrets were revealed, when she realized who and what she'd become and how much she didn't like that woman. That moment was brilliantly written. It brought her past and present to one single point in time and helped everything else in John and Louisa's world fall into place. This is the fourth and last book in this series. It sucks when you have to say goodbye to characters you've grown to love, you know? But it was an incredible journey about four very different women who found friendship in their club and discovered love outside of it. ***Received from Edelweiss via Tasty Book Tours for an honest review***
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Terrible.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The story line was kinda slow but that is not why I gave it a one. I enjoy reading historical because their is no crude language except in this case.  I was appalled at how foul mouth both characters were.  I do not recommend this book at all!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Whats up