The Holland Family Saga Part One: They Don't Mind Dying

The Holland Family Saga Part One: They Don't Mind Dying

by Clever Black

NOOK Book(eBook)

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
LendMe® See Details
Want a NOOK ? Explore Now


The Holland Family Saga Part One: They Don't Mind Dying by Clever Black

They Don’t Mind Dying…Those who reside there already know the saying. To everyone else—welcome to New Orleans—to be more specific—welcome to the Ninth Ward. They Don’t Mind Dying is an intense psychological thriller that chronicles in explicit detail, the inner workings of an inner city drug organization from its violent rise to power on through to its ultimate demise.
Forced out of his home and onto the streets by his aunt at the age of fifteen, Ben Holland meets two youths, Manny and Oscar, who would change his life forever when they introduce him to a life of crime. They Don’t Mind Dying tells the story of Ben Holland and how he and his friends rose to the top of the drug game and the violent lifestyle the gang’s members had become accustomed to. When events within the organization begin to unravel the gang’s solidarity, however, no amount of money in their possession, nor the police on the crew’s payroll, could stop the wheels of retribution from rolling in their direction. Ben Holland and his crew fight to remain atop the city’s drug trade, but the price of success is starting to exceed the effort; retirement is looking more and more appealing. Can Ben Holland and his crew stay alive long enough to exit the game? Or will fate have a say so in matters?
They Don’t Mind Dying is the first installment in The Holland Family Saga, a saga that will chronicle the Holland Family’s history along with the people who would shape their lives over many years. Starting with They Don’t Mind Dying, the creed in which Ben Holland and his cohorts live by throughout their violent reign, and traversing forward, the saga will reveal over time, the Holland Family’s struggles, injustices and inner demons as their lives come full circle and many secrets are revealed. The Holland Family Saga is more than fiction…It is real life in print.

Product Details

BN ID: 2940046481235
Publisher: Clever Black
Publication date: 12/19/2014
Sold by: Smashwords
Format: NOOK Book
Sales rank: 88,186
File size: 445 KB
Age Range: 18 Years

About the Author

Clever Black was born in New Orleans, Louisiana in March of 1973. He and his immediate family left New Orleans on August 28, 2005 to escape hurricane Katrina and they’ve never returned to the city except for the occasional visit. Clever Black and his family now call Charlotte, North Carolina home.

Says Clever Black, “The ninth ward, for me was a place of happiness, sorrow, despair, hopelessness, love, success and tragedy. I learned so much in just that small piece of real estate. I learned to deal with life's problems head on. I learned to love and care for others. I've witnessed so many of my friends and peers perish on the streets, that, the most powerful lesson I've learned was not to succumb to the attitude that ‘it won't happen to me’. I have a deep appreciation for life and through writing, I release a lot of the pinned-up emotions that have been with me since my teen years. I look at all that's going on in the world and I feel sorry for all the people I knew personally that were murdered on the streets of New Orleans. I wonder what they would've become. I, too, was a child of the streets, but I, by the grace of God survived those dramatic and confusing times. I grew wiser over the years and now I have goals and dreams that are getting ever closer and more attainable. Unlike in the past, I now have hope.”

Clever Black Books, LLC was formed in October of 2011. Its goal is to deliver a thought-proving read to all who are interested in this epic family saga that exposes and expresses many a life’s experiences—the American experience. The Holland Family Saga is America at its best and its worst. It is a sweeping and epic family saga filled with drama, violence, deep-dialogue and deadly alliances. And that’s just scraping surface.

The first book published in the saga, titled The Holland Family Saga Part One: They Don’t Mind Dying, was released in March of 2012 and is enjoying minimal success. Seven subsequent novels in the series soon followed; the latest release in the on-going epic saga, titled Definition of a Boss, was released in July of 2014. A full-length standalone novel titled Implicit, whose explosive ending is continuously leaving readers with their mouths wide open over the shocking conclusion, was released in February of 2014.

In less than two years, Author Clever Black has released nine full-length novels under his own publishing company, Clever Black Books, LLC. In February of 2014, he signed with Write House Publishing and launched a new series titled Outlaw Chics, and now has a total of ten novels under his belt, yet he still considered himself a novice to the craft.

The Author’s work doesn’t stop there, however; Clever Black has a bi-monthly column in Urban Grapevine Magazine, a digital magazine that caters to Urban Fiction, titled Publishing, Politicking and People. His first article was published inside the magazine in May of 2014 and the follow-up article is slated for a July release. Writing is his passion. Telling stories is a skill he works hard at every day in order to perfect and refine his craft as he evolves on the literary stage.

Clever Black would like to implore all who are interested in strong story and true-to-life characters, to at least have a look and see what The Holland Family Saga, Implicit, and Outlaw Chics has to offer as he delivers a full read in each of his works. They are all full-length novels whose characters will linger on in the backs of readers’ minds long after they’ve set the books down.

This is fiction at its best. Real life tales played out within the pages of novels that will have readers yearning for more. The Holland Family Saga is a great American story for all lovers of fiction. Implicit has an ending that is forcing readers to read the book twice. Outlaw Chics is a story unique to the Urban Genre and his main body of work, The Holland Family Saga, is not just a series, but a genuine a saga that cannot be categorized into one specific genre because it is simply too large of a project to be genre specific.
Clever Black delivers a great read each time out and you’re invited to see for yourself. Order a book today at Amazon or Barnes and Nobles and partake in the Clever Black Experience.

Clever Black can be reached through Facebook under the name Clever Black and on Twitter @cleverblack. His works are available in eBook format and paperback on Amazon, and in e-book format on Barnes and Nobles, with Outlaw Chics being exclusively published in Kindle format only.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Holland Family Saga Part One: They Don't Mind Dying 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 4 reviews.
Genagal More than 1 year ago
Do Not Sleep on this Author! Wow! Clever Black have become another great author for me! It gives you insight and details of life in Ninth Ward of New Orleans. It describes the bonding of family and friends! By the end of this story you will be wanting more!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Really liked this book and cant wait to readthe next in the trilogy
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed this ENTIRE series. Clever Black is a very descriptive writer and the stories flowed so well. I am now reading the 4th book. They are all good reads. You will not be dissappointed!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great book, grabs you at the beginning, and by the end your looking for more,,,,