B&N Audiobooks Subscription = SAVINGS. Sign Up Today for a Free Book!
The Injustice Never Leaves You: Anti-Mexican Violence in Texas

The Injustice Never Leaves You: Anti-Mexican Violence in Texas

by Monica Muñoz Martinez


View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Wednesday, June 29


Winner of the Caughey Western History Prize
Winner of the Robert G. Athearn Award
Winner of the Lawrence W. Levine Award
Winner of the TCU Texas Book Award
Winner of the NACCS Tejas Foco Nonfiction Book Award
Winner of the María Elena Martínez Prize
Frederick Jackson Turner Award Finalist

“A page-turner…Haunting…Bravely and convincingly urges us to think differently about Texas’s past.”
Texas Monthly

Between 1910 and 1920, self-appointed protectors of the Texas–Mexico border—including members of the famed Texas Rangers—murdered hundreds of ethnic Mexicans living in Texas, many of whom were American citizens. Operating in remote rural areas, officers and vigilantes knew they could hang, shoot, burn, and beat victims to death without scrutiny. A culture of impunity prevailed. The abuses were so pervasive that in 1919 the Texas legislature investigated the charges and uncovered a clear pattern of state crime. Records of the proceedings were soon filed away as the Ranger myth flourished.

A groundbreaking work of historical reconstruction, The Injustice Never Leaves You has upended Texas’s sense of its own history. A timely reminder of the dark side of American justice, it is a riveting story of race, power, and prejudice on the border.

“It’s an apt moment for this book’s hard lessons…to go mainstream.”
Texas Observer

“A reminder that government brutality on the border is nothing new.”
Los Angeles Review of Books

Related collections and offers

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780674244825
Publisher: Harvard University Press
Publication date: 04/14/2020
Pages: 400
Sales rank: 143,430
Product dimensions: 6.00(w) x 9.20(h) x 1.10(d)

About the Author

Monica Muñoz Martinez is Associate Professor of History at the University of Texas, Austin. She is cofounder of the nonprofit organization Refusing to Forget, which calls for a public reckoning with racial violence in Texas. In addition to winning six book prizes, The Injustice Never Leaves You in 2019 was named a Five Books Best Book on White Supremacy and Texas Observer Best Texas Book of the Decade.

Table of Contents

Introduction 1

1 Divine Retribution 30

2 From Silence 76

3 Denial of Justice 120

4 Cultures of Violence 172

5 Idols 227

6 Reckoning with Violence 264

Epilogue 293

Notes 303

Acknowledgments 363

Index 371

Customer Reviews

Explore More Items