The Murderer's Maid: A Lizzie Borden Novel

The Murderer's Maid: A Lizzie Borden Novel

by Erika Mailman

Hardcover

$22.50 $25.00 Save 10% Current price is $22.5, Original price is $25. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Thursday, September 27  Order now and choose Expedited Shipping during checkout.
    Same Day shipping in Manhattan. 
    See Details

Overview

The Murderer's Maid: A Lizzie Borden Novel by Erika Mailman

Bram Stoker Award finalist Erika Mailman brings the true story of the brutal murder of Lizzie Borden’s father and stepmother into new focus by adding a riveting contemporary narrative.

The Murderer’s Maid interweaves the stories of two women: one, the servant of infamous Lizzie Borden, and the other a modern-day barista fleeing from an attempt on her life.

Trapped by servitude and afraid for her own safety, Irish maid Bridget finds herself an unwilling witness to the tensions in the volatile Borden household. As Lizzie seethes with resentment, Bridget tries to perform her duties and keep her mouth shut.

Unknowingly connected to the legendary crime of a century ago, Brooke, the illegitimate daughter of an immigrant maid, struggles to conceal her identity and stay a jump ahead of the men who want to kill her. When she unexpectedly falls in love with Anthony, a local attorney, she has to decide whether to stop running and begin her life anew.

With historical detail and taut, modern storytelling, Erika Mailman writes a captivating novel about identity, choices, freedom, and murder. She offers readers a fresh perspective on the notorious crime and explores the trials of immigrants seeking a better life while facing down fear and oppression, today and throughout history. Intelligent and detailed, The Murderer’s Maid is a gripping read from beginning to bloody conclusion.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780997066449
Publisher: Yellow Pear Press
Publication date: 10/30/2017
Sales rank: 542,059
Product dimensions: 5.70(w) x 8.60(h) x 1.60(d)

About the Author

Erika Mailman is the author of The Witch's Trinity, a San Francisco Chronicle Notable Book and Bram Stoker Award finalist, and Woman of Ill Fame, a Pushcart Press Editor's Book Award nominee. She's a Yaddo fellow and lives in Northern California with her family. www.erikamailman.com

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Murderer's Maid: A Lizzie Borden Novel 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 2 reviews.
amybooksy More than 1 year ago
The Murderer's Maid: A Lizzie Borden Novel is a family fabulous piece of fiction based on true events. I love this book! I enjoyed the author's vision of what really happened in the Borden home leading up to the brutal murders of Lizzie's father and stepmother. I, also, enjoyed getting a glimpse into the thoughts of the maid, Bridget. Oh what horrors she had gone through in that house. I highly highly recommend this book and would give it 100 stars if I could. I received this book from the author. This review is 100% my own honest opinion.
teachlz More than 1 year ago
Lindas Book Obsession Review of “THE MURDERER’S MAID” by Erika Mailman Kudos to Erika Mailman, author of “The Murderer’s Maid” for her amazing story-telling skills in weaving two stories together. The genres for this novel are Historical Fiction, Mystery and Thriller, Suspense and Fiction. The timelines of the stories take place around 1892, and in the present. According to the blurb “ ‘The Murderer’s Maid” interweaves the stories of two women: one, the servant of infamous Lizzie Borden, and the other a modern-day barista fleeing from an attempt on her life.” I love the way Erika puts the pieces of the puzzle together in this story, how she relates the past and the present. I also appreciate the author’s historical research into Lizzie Bordon’s life and trial. The characters in this story are complex and complicated, possibly due to the times and situations. Some of the characters are dysfunctional, some are courageous, and some are threatening. Lizzie Bordon comes from an extremely dysfunctional family. Bridget, an Irish maid working for the family is witness to many uncomfortable situations and tension. There is a tremendous amount of turmoil, stress, hostility and anger that is going on in the Bordon household. Bridget is looked down upon because she is Irish, and at times is shown a lack of respect. Brooke, is the illegitimate daughter of an immigrant maid, that has to change her name and location because there is a threat to her life. Brooke works as a Barista to make ends meet. Brooke’s mother had been killed, and Brooke had been placed in a group home. Now as an adult Brooke has to find her way. The author discusses important topics such as immigration, as people come here and work hard to make a better life and find “while facing fear and oppression”. The author talks about the importance of loyalty, friendship, family, honesty and searching for self worth and the truth. Sometimes history has a way of repeating itself. Erika Mailman leaves us with a message of love and hope. I would highly recommend this novel for readers who love Historical Fiction, Mystery and Thrillers, Suspense and Fiction. I would like to thank Yellow Pear Press, and Erika Mailman for an Advanced Reading Copy for my honest review.