Buy One, Get One 50% Off Our Monthly Picks!
Shop Now
The New David Espinoza

The New David Espinoza

by Fred Aceves

Paperback

$10.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Friday, May 27

Overview

This story from the acclaimed author of The Closest I’ve Come unflinchingly examines steroid abuse and male body dysmorphia. Perfect for fans of Jason Reynolds and Matt de la Peña.

David Espinoza is tired of being messed with. When a video of him getting knocked down by a bully’s slap goes viral at the end of junior year, David vows to use the summer to bulk up— do what it takes to become a man—and wow everyone when school starts again the fall.

Soon David is spending all his time and money at Iron Life, a nearby gym that’s full of bodybuilders. Frustrated with his slow progress, his life eventually becomes all about his muscle gains. As it says on the Iron Life wall, What does not kill me makes me stronger.

As David falls into the dark side of the bodybuilding world, pursuing his ideal body at all costs, he’ll have to grapple with the fact that it could actually cost him everything. 

A Chicago Public Library Best Teen Fiction Selection

A Banks Street Best Children's Book of the Year



Related collections and offers

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780062489906
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date: 02/23/2021
Pages: 352
Sales rank: 183,288
Product dimensions: 5.20(w) x 7.80(h) x 0.90(d)
Age Range: 14 - 17 Years

About the Author

Fred Aceves is the author of The Closest I’ve Come, which was an ALA/YALSA Best Fiction for Young Adults selection, a Kirkus Reviews Best Books of the Year selection, and an NYPL Best Books selection. The New David Espinoza is his second novel. Fred has lived in seven different countries and currently lives in Mexico. His online home is www.fredaceves.com.

Customer Reviews

Explore More Items