The Path of the Wind

The Path of the Wind

by James A. Misko

Paperback

$17.95
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, May 1

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780757004445
Publisher: Square One Publishers
Publication date: 04/04/2017
Pages: 304
Sales rank: 823,031
Product dimensions: 6.00(w) x 8.90(h) x 1.00(d)

About the Author

James A. Misko was born in Nebraska, then moved to Oregon and Alaska, completing what for him was a natural bridge to the frontier. He has worked as an oil field roughneck, a logger, truck driver, saw mill hand, teacher, journalist, real estate broker, and writer. With numerous published articles and five novels to his credit, he continues to work at being the best author of fiction he can be. Jim and his wife Patti live in Alaska during the summer and California in the winter.

What People are Saying About This

James Alexander Thorn

"In an unexpected and satisfying ending, Mr. Misko shows that a dedicated, innovative schoolteacher is one of the most valuable of all citizens: teaching our young not just how to make a good living, but how to make a good life."

—James Alexander Thom, author of Follow the River

Dr. John Bury

"I have been an ardent fan of all of Jim Misko's novels. They just get better and better as they exhale the soil and soul of Mid-20th century rural America. The Path of the Wind is his latest and best and constantly brings to mind Wallace Stegner.

I also taught in rural schools during the era Misko is writing about: I knew Miles in many teachers to be the truly dedicated and charming knucklehead that Misko portrays him to be. And, I did know some characters just like Superintendent Calvin Brooks to be the 'scoundrels' that they were.

Misko literally has you touching, smelling and seeing the Central Oregon countryside and its small towns. Pick this wonderful and charming book up and you won't put it down."

—Dr. John Bury, former rural schoolteacher and retired professor/dean

Howard Frank Mosher

"In the tradition of Jesse Stuart's The Thread That Runs So True and Ivan Doig's The Whistling Season, Jim Misko's The Path of the Wind is an entertaining and insightful novel about the life and times of an American schoolteacher. What's more, it's a moving love story. Anyone who's ever taught school or wondered what it would be like to teach will love The Path of the Wind." —Howard Frank Mosher, author of God's Kingdom

Nick Jans

"The Path of the Wind is a nostalgic journey back to a simpler world and time—rural, small town America in the 1950s. The hurdles faced by newlywed school teacher Miles Foster are numerous but surmountable: a stodgy school superintendent, his young wife’s difficult pregnancy, students in need of inspiration. In overcoming them, he and the other characters affirm essential values dear to the American spirit. This sweet, unassuming book is a love poem to a past where virtue inevitably triumphs, and small victories tower as monuments. Thanks to Jim Misko’s well-crafted prose, we can practically hear the strains of Tamarack, Oregon’s high school band playing "The Battle Hymn of the Republic," and smell the local diner's cinnamon rolls fresh from the oven."

—Nick Jans, author of A Wolf Called Romeo and member of USA Today’s board of editorial contributors

Mike Sirota

"SMALL TOWN, SMALLER MINDS. In a poor, working-class Oregon town, young, progressive teacher Miles Foster must overcome the provincial powers that be if he is to reach his impressionable students—and save his career. The Path of the Wind is a powerful novel by acclaimed author Jim Misko."

—Mike Sirota, award-winning author of Freedom's Hand and Stone Woman: Winema and the Modocs

Andrew Neiderman

"After having been a teacher for over 23 years and doing battle for my students who were often lost in an uncaring system, I can identify with Jim Misko's Miles Foster and tell you this is a novel that cries to be read not only for its tension and good writing, but for its theme. It's a cause for which a good novel like this will help parents, teachers and yes, students of the future appreciate and support. A must for those looking for a quality read!"

—Andrew Neiderman, author of The Devil's Advocate and the V.C. Andrews novels

Alan Russell

"There were tears in my eyes as I finished reading Jim Misko’s The Path of the Wind. They were good tears, the kind that only appear at the satisfying redemption of a protagonist you care about. Misko is a natural storyteller. His characters aren’t constructs, but feel like they are flesh and blood. In Misko’s able hands we are transported to a small town in Central Oregon in the late nineteen-fifties. A young Jimmy Stewart would have loved playing the role of Miles Foster, a newlywed, a newly minted teacher, and a man willing to pay the cost for trying to revitalize a dying school and town. Once again, Misko delivers!"

—Alan Russell, bestselling author of Burning Man

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Path of the Wind 4.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 10 reviews.
Gordon Davis More than 1 year ago
The Path of the Wind is the fifth novel from award-winning storyteller, Jim Misko. Again, the reader will feel at home with Jim's heartfelt portrayal of ordinary people overcoming extraordinary circumstances. Jim has an artist's eye for describing America's heartland and its homespun characters. "Path" is another must read for anyone who appreciates a tightly-woven story and plain-spoken characters that will remain long after the last page is turned.
Irma Severns More than 1 year ago
I thoroughly enjoyed and read in one day James Misko's "The Path of the Wind" The reader is introduced to Miles Foster, a young teacher whose dream is to live and teach in Portland, Oregon. However, he and his loving wife find themselves in a very small remote mill town where 40 ill-trained and uninterested students dwell. Miles is unprepared for a deeply mired establishment principal and school board devoid of creative ideas and lacking the mental resources or flexibility to keep the small mill town and school from collapsing. In spite of the constant cloud of dysfunction and criticism from the administration and others, Mr. Foster, perseveres with love, patience, caring and dedication, and is able to bring out the best in the students, helping them experience self pride and group success. Appreciation is not his reward but the self assurance behind the smiling eyes of his students is. Irma C
Mwfast More than 1 year ago
Most of my family have been or are teachers so this wonderful book is greatly treasured. Beautifully written, describing a small struggling mill town and a new young and inspired teacher endeavoring to educate his students under a rigid system. The soon to be retired "old school" Principle fights him all the way. You won't be able to put the book down until you find out the outcome.
CatherineLarry More than 1 year ago
Very good book. A young and enthusiastic teacher with new ideas and a genuine interest in the education of his students comes up against an entrenched school administration and a politically motivated school board. The author describes life and nature in rural America so well it brought back memories of a similar school in Montana.
JohnPeterHagen More than 1 year ago
“Caper in the Classroom” would be an appropriate sub-title for “The Path of the Wind,” an inspiring and humorous romp through the archaic academic bureaucracy of an intellectually corrupt rural school board, (an unfortunate situation which we all are too familiar). Set in a remote, one-school Oregon town – which in another age would be considered a colonial outpost ultimately controlled by the timber industry and its mills – the story confronts the day-to-day academic realities of teachers and students within the draconian cloud of the board and its superintendent. This translates, of course, into a no muss, no fuss, opaque environment that barely avows, let alone promotes, intellectual achievement. The good news is that this quagmire provides a crusading teacher of music, history and typing, a refreshing and exhilarating opportunity to teach, and his students to learn … even those facing a life offering little or no opportunity for escape from a humdrum existence. (As a parallel, perhaps, do you remember the quests of Joanna Gleason and Richard Dreyfuss in "Mr. Holland’s Opus?") Jim Misko presents, as he does successfully in all his books, a cast of well-drawn characters, with the school’s jack-of-all-trades “janitor/school bus driver/handyman/folk hero" singled out. (Many readers may admit with a private smile, such a character was one of the most remembered associated with their own education.) Here, however, given the book exists because of the abject complicity of the school board, I wish all its members, as the board is the core of the book, would have been flushed-out just as vigorously. (Wanting to understand their personal greed motives for serving on the board would be a start.) No matter, this is an entertaining and memorable book parents and their young adult children can enjoy reading alone, as well as together, as the book contains an appropriate balance of cunning "how-to" and "creative thought," within a code of moral decency.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Excellent Book! I grew up in a small town like the one in the book and it brought back so many memories of that time period in my life. Very realistic story line that kept you involved in what was happening. The struggles of a new teacher dealing with the educational system in place but pushing back against it to reach out and actually educate the students for real life after school. Plus the author brought in the whole history of that time period and how the town works together as a community. As the book ended it left me wanting more - to find out what happens next. I heartily recommend it!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Think of your most favorite moment in life. This great book will rank 2nd, its that good
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Think of your most favorite moment in life. This great book will rank 2nd, its that good
LynneSpreen More than 1 year ago
A very enjoyable read on many levels. For one, dramatic tension. It was hard to put down. Also, it was a view into 1957 America, a hamlet in central Oregon that depended on logging and is hanging on by its fingernails. In Path of the Wind, we see the world as viewed from the eyes of an idealistic young schoolteacher who wants to educate (as opposed to teach) and is thwarted by the Old Guard. Misko writes from the heart, which is never more evident than in his soaring descriptions of the magic wrought by a little high school band. This story brought tears to my eyes more than once. Reminded me of The Whistling Season by Ivan Doig. A delightful read.
Buffalojim More than 1 year ago
First readers impressions. "End Impression…First thought, I want another 300 pages (Right Now) I was hooked from page one, enjoyed the hours reading until 2 AM in the morning not wanting to put it down. One Damn fine book. Explaining how much I liked the book is like trying to describe the feelings in watching a most fantastic sunrise or sunset. A short period of time, but the memories live forever. And it would make a great movie." Ray H. Oregon City, OR "Just finished Path of the Wind and it was great." Anne S. Central City, NE "Excellent read." Danny W. New Mexico "Your book is awesome" Gail W. Portland, OR