The Price of Darkness

The Price of Darkness

by Graham Hurley

NOOK Book(eBook)

$5.99
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Overview

'There is no one writing better police procedurals today.' Daily Telegraph

Does crime ever pay? DC Winter is about to find out.

DC Winter, sacked from the police, has joined the city's premier drug baron, Bazza Mackenzie. Adrift in a world of easy money and brutally hard-won respect, Winter appears to be in his element. Worryingly so...

DI Faraday, meanwhile, is deeply involved in two high-profile murders - but when one enquiry is taken out of his hands, he begins to uncover a web of evidence with profound implications for both investigations...and for the disgraced Paul Winter.

The relationship between the two men has never been easy but now might be the time to bury their differences.

Why readers love Graham Hurley:

'There is no one writing better police procedurals today.' Daily Telegraph

'Well-written and plotted, utterly convincing and really exciting... Excellent' Daily Mail

'One of the great talents of British police procedurals... every book he delivers is better than the last' Independent on Sunday

Fans of Ian Rankin, Peter James and Peter Robinson will love Graham Hurley:

Faraday and Winter
1. Turnstone
2. The Take
3. Angels Passing
4. Deadlight
5. Cut to Black
6. Blood and Honey
7. One Under
8. The Price of Darkness
9. No Lovelier Death
10. Beyond Reach
11. Borrowed Light
12. Happy Days

Jimmy Suttle
1. Western Approaches
2. Touching Distance
3. Sins of the Father
4. The Order of Things

* Each Graham Hurley novel can be read as a standalone or in series order *

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781409123507
Publisher: Orion Publishing Group, Limited
Publication date: 04/08/2010
Sold by: Hachette Digital, Inc.
Format: NOOK Book
File size: 574 KB

About the Author

Graham Hurley is an award-winning TV documentary maker who now writes full time. He is married and has grown up children. He lived in Portsmouth for 20 years but now lives in Exmouth, Devon.www.grahamhurley.co.uk

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Price of Darkness 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 2 reviews.
edwardsgt on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Another Joe Faraday story, set as always in a detailed and atmospheric Portsmouth, populated by larger than life characters, including gangster "Bazza" Mackenzie and ex-DC Paul Winter. In this story Faraday is trying to solve the execution-style murder of a sharp property developer, whilst trying to develop his relationship with French Gabrielle and find out what his son JJ has been doing in Moscow. A real sense of authenticity of character, plot and location. Highly recommended.
JamieBowen0306 More than 1 year ago
This police procedural, set in Portsmouth England, has 2 strands. One focuses on two murders investigated by D.I. Joe Faraday (a businessman and junior government official are shot), the other focuses on a former policeman (Paul Winter, who was booted off the force when he became a bit of a boozer), and his relationship with the local drugs kingpin, Baz MacKenzie. Faraday and Winter are the 2 extremes of modern policing. Winter is the old school cop who hangs around in bars to pick up the "word on the street," while Faraday is more modern, able to delegate and build the alliances needed in modern policing. This book is genuinely a decent read. I lived in Portsmouth for 12 years and he caught the place and people pretty well. I'd've given the story four or five stars if I could have believed the Faraday storyline more. The are no seeming links between the 2 murders at the start of the book, but as the story develops you can just see the link developing a mile off. That's what let the book down for me. You know the murders must be linked (either to each other or the Winter storyline), and by about two-thirds of the way through, you don't need to be a genius to work out how they're linked. That's why I've only given it 3 stars.