The Rancher's Temporary Engagement

The Rancher's Temporary Engagement

by Stacy Henrie

NOOK BookOriginal (eBook - Original)

$3.99
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781488087202
Publisher: Harlequin
Publication date: 02/01/2018
Sold by: HARLEQUIN
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 288
Sales rank: 275,899
File size: 1 MB

About the Author

Stacy Henrie has always loved history, fiction, and chocolate. She earned her B.A. in public relations before turning her attentions to raising a family and writing inspirational historical romances. Wife of an entrepreneur husband and a mother to three, Stacy enjoys living out history through her fictional characters. In addition to author, she is also a reader, a road trip enthusiast, and a novice interior decorator. Her books include HOPE AT DAWN, a 2015 RITA award finalist.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Rancher's Temporary Engagement 4.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 5 reviews.
amybooksy More than 1 year ago
The Rancher's Temporary Engagement is my new favorite read by Stacy Henrie. I thought it was a wonderful story. Maggy is a fun and strong woman and I love love loved to see her with Edward. Those two really knew how to click and had great chemistry that makes for a great romance. I love how the author used her vision of those times and how she vividly describes the surroundings and setting perfectly that made a reader feel as though they are part of the story. I had fun being a part of it! The Rancher’s Temporary Engagement is a fabulous historical that should not be missed. I had it read in just a few hours and it was time well spent. I highly recommend this for those who love a good, sweet, clean, heartwarming book that, also, has a touch of mystery and suspense. A well deserved 5 plus stars. I received this book from the author. This review is 100% my own honest opinion
Phyllis_H More than 1 year ago
My review is 4.5 Stars I’m always so glad to find new authors I like. Stacy Henrie is now on my “buy as soon as it is released list”. The Rancher’s Temporary Engagement was a great story with mystery, romance, and life lessons about the love of God. Both Edward and Maggy had been hurt in the past and had to learn to trust and to love. Edward was the third, and therefore expendable, son of an Earl. The woman he loved abandoned him for his older brother. He struggled with feelings of insignificance, but had a deep love for God. Maggy had lost her mother when she was a young girl. When her father refused to bring her to church and began to turn to alcohol and violence towards her, she felt that God had abandoned her. And after marriage to man just like her father, she trusted neither man nor God. So when she became a widow at an early age, she decided that she was the only one she could rely on. The growing relationship between Maggy and Edward was sweet and tender. I loved that Edward had so much integrity that he wouldn’t settle for a fake engagement. He was determined to not lie about anything. As he watcher her go, aware of his empty hands, Edward wondered how one could feel the loss of something one didn’t truly have in the first place. There are references to physical abuse in the book, not only in Maggy’s life, but another woman in the story, but they are simply that without descriptions of the actual acts. This review was originally posted on AmongTheReads.net I am grateful to Prism Book Tours for giving me a copy of this book. The fact I received this book for free does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.
MeezCarrie More than 1 year ago
4.5 stars I thoroughly enjoyed this latest historical romance from Stacy Henrie. There’s humor and affection, faith and romance, a dime-novel-loving housekeeper, a British cowboy and a female Pinkerton agent. I mean, really – What’s not to love? Maggy is such a layered character – from the domestic abuse she suffered in her past to her great success as a detective. Although she still struggles with feelings of worthlessness, she has risen above the unthinkable and broken down gender barriers. I also love that she kept both a strong will and a tender heart. Edward is the delicious combination of two swoony hero-types: the brooding British bachelor and the cowboy. He too struggles with his self-worth and a fear of failure, and I loved the way that he and Maggy help each other find their own sense of value. This tenderly-penned theme – also seen with Maggy’s friend Vienna – is one that many of us need to hear and remember: we aren’t worthless, we aren’t a failure, and we are not what we do or what happens to us. In between the sweet romance (some great kisses in here!) and the mystery they’re trying to solve and the message of worth in God’s eyes … Henrie adds in some great touches of humor that keep the book from getting too heavy. Lots of moments to make you smile – like Edward’s reaction to Maggy’s impromptu decision about their temporary engagement. Or Mrs. Harvey’s love of dime novels – and how it comes in handy more than once for Maggy’s case. And then there’s the last few pages which just had me grinning ear to ear in delight! Bottom Line: Peppered with humor and gentle truth, The Rancher’s Temporary Engagement is a great read from start to finish! Henrie’s sense of timing shines, as well as her ability to create dimensional characters who quickly feel like dear friends. The friendship-turned-romance is swoony and sweet, and the suspense gives the plot purpose without overpowering it. Stacy Henrie’s novels are always wonderfully enjoyable, and this one is no exception! (I voluntarily reviewed a complimentary copy of this book)
Silverwood More than 1 year ago
In the tradition of Francine Rivers & Liz Curtis Higgs, The Rancher's Temporary Engagement carries us back through time in love and the lives of women of faith. Stacy Henrie has truly done her homework on this fascinating time in America, when British aristocrats turn to Wyoming ranchers and battered women rise into the ranks of the Pinkertons. As the stage is set, we are gifted with a glimpse into a world that promises danger and beauty in equal turns. Both protagonists, Edward Kent and our not-so-damsel in distress, Maddy are brought together by nefarious circumstances. Kent, the outcast son of a British Earl, has found success with his beloved ranch, until someone begins stealing his horses. He enlists the aid of the Pinkertons on a whim. Enter Maddy, whose background, deep in abuse, rings true. This inner vulnerability is something she has worked hard to bury beneath a veneer of wit and cunning. While she's known as "get her man" Maddy, our heroine isn't as tough as she presents herself on the surface upon meeting Edward. Maddy's boss sends her to solve this one last case, with the promise of the promotion of a lifetime. All Edward Kent cares about is nabbing the horse rustlers and proving once and for all that his mad move to the States merits worth. The last thing either expect is to find their well made plans work best when working together. I was surprised by the depth and sincerity of Henrie's writing. In such a light genre, many inspirational authors shy away from the grittier aspects of the time period. Henrie handles both the bad and ugly with honesty and a deeper message of hope. As Maddy slowly watches the way Edward weaves his faith through his daily life, Henrie also urges us to "see His hand in everything." The impact of Edward's faith in God and in Maddy, as she unravels the mystery is more than empowering, it's a reminder of the true meaning of redeeming love.
MoniqueD More than 1 year ago
The first Pinkerton agent hadn’t done anything to solve Edward Kent’s problem. Following menacing notes, his mysterious enemy is now stealing his horses. Edward’s housekeeper, a diligent reader of dime novels, appeals to him to hire another detective before things go from bad to worst. Edward had certainly not expected the new Pinkerton agent: Maggy Worthing, a lovely young woman. While unfazed by a female detective, Edward is suitably impressed when Maggy quickly uncovers new leads, which look promising, it’s just that Maggy’s cover, pretending to be his fiancée, will not be easy to deal with, as Edward has experienced a heartbreaking disappointment in the past. Trust Stacy Henrie to write a convincing nineteenth century self-sufficient woman! What is even more commendable is that there were female Pinkerton agents in 1898; this is but one of the fascinating historical details in THE RANCHER’S TEMPORARY ENGAGEMENT. I loved that the romance was not rushed, but deftly woven into the intrigue, as events made Maggy and Edward grow closer. Other nice touches are that Edward is English and that his household is very British in the very American West; also like Maggy, he has rebuilt his life after a painful loss. The fake fiancée trope works particularly well, because it really was the best way to dig for information regarding the threats, but it was also challenging because of Maggy and Edward’s pasts, and what a lovely romance it is! Maggy and Edward’s relationship is built on respect and trust; he’s a noble man, and thankfully very different from Maggy’s late husband, It is also Edward who helps Maggy to find her Faith again, and this constitutes a highlight of THE RANCHER’S TEMPORARY ENGAGEMENT; it is so subtly done, and so moving that I had tears in my eyes. Even readers who read little inspirational romance will agree that this is a very powerful scene because Maggy is reminded of happier times and what they entailed. THE RANCHER’S TEMPORARY ENGAGEMENT has great characters, elegant and prose so light and easy to read, that before I knew it, I had reached the superb conclusion, which was perfect in every way. Regardless of the era or type of story, I know I can always depend on Stacy Henrie to deliver, and she does it again with a detective story! I voluntarily reviewed an advanced reader copy of this book.