The Secrets of Hawthorne House

The Secrets of Hawthorne House

The Secrets of Hawthorne House

The Secrets of Hawthorne House


    Qualifies for Free Shipping
    Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Wednesday, December 6
    Check Availability at Nearby Stores

Related collections and offers


Fifteen-year-old Matt Mitchell was having the worst summer imaginable. His misery started when his mother died in a senseless car accident. Unable to remain in the family's memory-filled seaside cottage, Matt's grieving father moved Matt and his twin sister as far as possible from the ocean they loved.

But their relocation to the small town of Hawthorne, Indiana only made Matt’s life more difficult. Three bullies at his new high school dedicated themselves to making him miserable. To top it off, Matt heard that the recluse living in the dilapidated Victorian mansion next door was none other than Old Lady Hawthorne, the town’s infamous witch and murderer of wayward husbands.

When Old Lady Hawthorne’s niece and her three children moved in next door, something extraordinary happened. Matt met Gerallt, the strange boy destined to become his best friend. And when Gerallt divulged the Hawthorne’s family secret, it changed Matt’s life forever.

The Secrets of Hawthorne House is the story of an unlikely friendship, the clash of two radically different cultures, secret magic, and a search for the lost Hawthorne treasure.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781087866178
Publisher: Donald Firesmith
Publication date: 02/17/2020
Series: Secrets , #1
Pages: 416
Product dimensions: 5.00(w) x 8.00(h) x 0.93(d)
Age Range: 13 - 18 Years

Table of Contents

1: First Day of School

2: The House Next Doo

3: Gerallt Moves In

4: Rescuing Gareth

5: Best Friends

6: Herbology and Magic

7: Trick or Treat

8: Inside Hawthorne House

9: Colin’s Revenge

10: The Principal’s Office

11: Grounded

12: What to Do?

13: Matt’s Marvelous Plan

14: An Unexpected Anthem

15: Freedom

16: Modron and Miracles

17: Gerallt’s Revenge

18: Spending the Night

19: Tina and the Tree Branch

20: The Inadvertent Investiture

21: Laid Off

22: Moving In

23: The Stolen Amulet

24: The Secret Search

25: Searching for Treasure

26: The Hidden Tunnel

27: Unexpected Announcements


From the B&N Reads Blog

Customer Reviews