The Shadow of What Was Lost (Licanius Trilogy Series #1)

The Shadow of What Was Lost (Licanius Trilogy Series #1)

by James Islington

Paperback(Reprint)

$15.29 $16.99 Save 10% Current price is $15.29, Original price is $16.99. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Thursday, September 27  Order now and choose Expedited Shipping during checkout.
    Same Day shipping in Manhattan. 
    See Details

Overview

The Shadow of What Was Lost (Licanius Trilogy Series #1) by James Islington

"Love The Wheel of Time? This is about to become your new favorite series." - B&N SF & Fantasy Blog

"Storytelling assurance rare for a debut . . . Fans of Robert Jordan and Brandon Sanderson will find much to admire." - Guardian

"Islington has built a world with all the right genre elements: complex magic, terrifying threats out of legend, political intrigue, and a large cast of characters whose motivations are seldom clear. Fans of doorstop epic fantasy will not be disappointed." - Publishers Weekly

"Ingeniously plotted...Islington's natural storytelling ability provides incessant plot twists and maintains a relentless pace...A promising page-turner from a poised newcomer." - Kirkus


"Wonderful worldbuilding and terrific characters." - Boing Boing

"Will appeal to anybody looking for a coming-of-age fantasy tale with likeable characters and strong world building." - Fantasy Faction

As destiny calls, a journey begins.



It has been twenty years since the god-like Augurs were overthrown and killed. Now, those who once served them - the Gifted - are spared only because they have accepted the rebellion's Four Tenets, vastly limiting their powers.


As a Gifted, Davian suffers the consequences of a war lost before he was even born. He and others like him are despised. But when Davian discovers he wields the forbidden power of the Augurs, he sets into motion a chain of events that will change everything.

To the west, a young man whose fate is intertwined with Davian's wakes up in the forest, covered in blood and with no memory of who he is...

And in the far north, an ancient enemy long thought defeated begins to stir.

The Licanius Trilogy
The Shadow of What Was Lost
An Echo of Things to Come

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780316274074
Publisher: Orbit
Publication date: 05/09/2017
Series: Licanius Trilogy Series , #1
Edition description: Reprint
Pages: 736
Sales rank: 59,506
Product dimensions: 5.90(w) x 9.10(h) x 2.00(d)

About the Author

James Islington was born and raised in southern Victoria, Australia. An avid fantasy reader for many years, it was only when he read Brandon Sanderson's Mistborn series that he was finally inspired to write something of his own. He now lives with his wife and daughter on the Mornington Peninsula in Victoria.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Shadow Of What Was Lost 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 14 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Amazing. Up there with Sanderson and Rothfuss. Can't recommend highly enough!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Nothing makes me happier than finding a new author that I know I'll be following for years to come. Can't wait for the next one.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Couldn't hardly put it down.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Brilliant
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Twists, turns, and unexplored areas glimpsed from the road. A good start to an adventurous journey.
BLUSOL More than 1 year ago
Very cool.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love Tad Williams, Melanie Rawn, but this guy is right up there too. A def must read. Rich characters, a vividly painted world. The intrigue and plot twists! You will be sucked in and wanting more!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Not only has a Wheel of Time feel, but the story is such a joy ride I couldn't put it down!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Started out good but too long and complicated. Who's a good guy and who's a rat. Was that Islington's goal. I don't like it. I'm on the second book now, thank you for the glossaries. The problem isn't putting the book down, the problem is picking it up again
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The book was fantastic. Tons of twists & a constant questioning of truth & conflicting realities. I picked it up because I saw a comparison to the Wheel of Time series. It did not disappoint. The characters & their development are fantastic.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I feel the story could compare to Jordan's work, but it wasn't add deep or complex. The characters weren't as developed, the world wasn't as fleshed out, and I felt there were gaps in it. The potential is there.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The book was way longer than it needed to be. Ultimately, leaving me frustrated and disappointed. I've devoted way too much time to this book already, so I'm not going to waste any more by writing a long detailed review.