The Shrouded Sword

The Shrouded Sword

The Shrouded Sword

The Shrouded Sword

eBook(NOOK Kids)


Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now


Owen Minter takes readers on a rollicking ride through a world of riddles, time travel, and magic. There are diverse heroes, evil creatures, wizards, and an enchanted house in this adventure series about friendship and the battle of good versus evil. Fans of the Fablehaven series and Harry Potter will love this book!

Twelve-year old Ethan Moseby and his ten-year old sister, Jynx, are dreading spending Christmas break with Socrates Maupin, an estranged uncle who is as peculiar as his temperamental mansion.

Little do they know he’s actually the legendary wizard Merlin, living under an alias in present-day Deadmoor, Virginia.

There's no internet access and not a single TV in the house. And what is causing the creepy occurrences within the old house? Ethan and Jynx are ready to leave.

But when Ethan hears a strange voice after discovering a maze on his uncle’s property, he knows he must stay to solve the voice’s cryptic message:

"Seek the light to reveal the shrouded treasure. For the sake of the trust."

With the help of Jynx, and a young local genius named Amos Sprunt, Ethan must crack riddles and ciphers to locate an enchanted painting leading to the shrouded treasure. A treasure hidden in the recesses of time. A treasure that—when reunited with three other concealed objects—could control the world’s fate with unstoppable magic.

But the kids aren’t alone on the hunt.

Along with their uncle, they battle blood-thirsty pirates of yore, and Morgause, a fairy witch with a riddle-loving goblin and a giant flame-spitting salamander on her side.

Can Ethan, Jynx, and Amos, find the wit, strength, and bravery they need to reach the treasure—before it falls into the wrong hands?


Related collections and offers

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780578593104
Publisher: Owen Minter
Publication date: 12/01/2019
Series: The Gramarye Cycle , #1
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: eBook
Pages: 280
File size: 7 MB
Age Range: 8 - 12 Years

About the Author

Owen Minter wrote his first story, THE ADVENTURES OF INK MAN, when he was in the sixth grade. He then drifted away from writing, spending his time playing football, singing, and creating art. A brief flutter occurred when his poem, FINALLY ALONE, was published in THE GARNET, the literary magazine of his alma mater, Hampden-Sydney College. A study abroad program in England rekindled his love of stories. After a brief time in banking, Owen was hired by a small company in Charlotte that specializes in storage systems. He joined the ownership group of the company and watched it grow from just three offices in North Carolina to 18 locations in 9 states. He designed and planted two formal gardens, then began a drawing inspired by the Arthurian legend. From this drawing, Owen began to write his first book, THE SHROUDED SWORD, a story of adventure sparked by ancient magic and time travel. When he's not writing, Owen makes paintings with a leaf blower, reads, and enjoys coaching Special Olympics Athletics.
Robert Ferguson is a Graphic Designer living in North Carolina.

Table of Contents

Chapter 1 – A CURIOUS HOUSE… 3

Chapter 2 – A MESSAGE IN THE DARK… 19


Chapter 4 – THE THIRD EYE… 56

Chapter 5 – THE FRESCO… 74

Chapter 6 – THE ENIGMATA… 93

Chapter 7 – THE SHADOW'S SHADOW… 107

Chapter 8 – LANCASTER BROWN… 127

Chapter 9 – PIRATES… 140

Chapter 10 – A SECRET… 154

Chapter 11 – THE ISLAND… 164

Chapter 12 – THE HIDDEN MAZE… 179

Chapter 13 – BLEISE… 192

Chapter 14 – THE BATTLE… 208

Chapter 15 – SALAMANDRA… 223

Chapter 16 – A GRAND LADY… 247

Chapter 17 – THE FORBIDDEN ROOM… 256

Chapter 18 – THE WIZARD… 263

Customer Reviews