The Stranger Game

The Stranger Game

by Cylin Busby

Paperback(Reprint)

$9.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Thursday, October 18?   Order by 12:00 PM Eastern and choose Expedited Shipping at checkout.
    Same Day shipping in Manhattan. 
    See Details

Overview

The Stranger Game by Cylin Busby

The Stranger Game is a dark, suspenseful, and twisty novel that is Gone Girl for teens. Perfect for fans of Lauren Oliver and E. Lockhart.

When Nico Morris’s older sister mysteriously disappears, her parents, family, and friends are devastated. But Nico can never admit what she herself feels: relief at finally being free of Sarah’s daily cruelties.

Then the best and worst thing happens: four years later, after dozens of false leads, Sarah is found.

But this girl is much changed from the one Nico knew. She’s thin and drawn, when Sarah had been golden and athletic; timid and unsure, instead of brash and competitive; and strangest of all, sweet and kind, when she had once been mean and abusive. Sarah’s retrograde amnesia has caused her to forget almost everything about her life, from small things like the plots of her favorite books and her tennis game to the more critical—where she’s been the last four years and what happened at the park on the fateful day she vanished. Despite the happy ending, the dark details of that day continue to haunt Nico, and it becomes clear that more than one person knows the true story of what happened to Sarah. . . .

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780062354617
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date: 02/06/2018
Edition description: Reprint
Pages: 288
Sales rank: 341,256
Product dimensions: 5.20(w) x 7.90(h) x 0.80(d)
Age Range: 13 Years

About the Author

Cylin Busby is the coauthor of the acclaimed memoir The Year We Disappeared and the author of the teen novels The Stranger Game and Blink Once and the middle grade novel The Nine Lives of Jacob Tibbs. A former editor at Teen magazine, she now lives in Los Angeles with her family. You can visit her online at www.cylinbusby.com.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Stranger Game 4.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 3 reviews.
quibecca More than 1 year ago
Nico's sister Sarah disappeared 4 years ago. Her parents were devastated, but Nico had not determined if she was sad or happy about it. Her sister Sarah was horrible to her. Treated her like crap, always demeaning her. Just an all around mean girl. Through the years Nico and her parents had been though a lot. Always being called to the Police Station to identify a body, or getting phone calls saying there was a sighting of Sarah. Each time Nico's parents would take her out of school to go with them "just in case" it was Sarah. Life was an emotional roller coaster for Nico and her family. Then one day, Nico's parents get a phone call that Sarah has been found. When she came home Nico wasn't quite sure what to think. So many things were different about Sarah. Then another roller coaster of emotions come over the whole family again. Nico's mom and dad wouldn't let either of them out of their site, but wanted Sarah to have whatever she wanted. Trying to make up for the 4 years she was gone. This story is so very interesting. It went in a totally different direction than I thought it would, which surprised me, and I love it when books do that. I am sure others who reviewed this knew how it was going to end, but not me. I was kind of shocked. I really enjoyed listening to this book. It was a fast listen. I know that sounds funny, but it really was. I hope that if you choose to read it you like it as much as I did. Happy reading! Source: I bought this audio book for myself. I was not compensated in any way for this review. These are my own PERSONAL thoughts on the book.
Sandy5 More than 1 year ago
Holy buckets! This story took me by surprise. The family has been dealing with the loss of Sarah for four years. Was she kidnapped or did she runaway? Four years and they haven’t had a good solid lead until now. In a shelter, they were reunited with Sarah. Mom and dad are overjoyed but Nico, her sister, senses something is just not right. So now, yes, I am apprehensive that things are going be weird in this novel. Of course, after four years Sarah has changed physically and mentally and the family is told there has been some abuse to Sarah during her time away. The family tries to reconnect again, it’s complicated with therapy, police, Sarah’s amnesia and the privacy that the family wants to maintain. You can imagine what the parents feels having their daughter returned home to them. It’s Nico’s apprehension towards her sister that has captured my attention, the way that she notices that her sister has changed drastically while she was away that leaves me on the fence. So many things run through my mind as Nico’s comments about her sister’s behavior and I try to rationalize them all, seriously she missing for four years and who knows what has happened during that time. The night terrors that are plaguing Sarah while she sleeps have to mean something. What about the amnesia that Sarah has? When will she remember and what will that do Sarah and her family? They are trying to be a normal family and I was just waiting for the balls to drop. Never in my wildest dreams was I expecting what the author tossed in there. It was brilliant, truly brilliant! I had to go back and reread a couple pages for I loved the execution. I will never tell anyone the secrets for the book is closed and it is all contained inside. A wonderful, eventful story that I will definitely read again!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a dark, mysterious YA page-turner, with a very satisfying conclusion!