The Tiny Hero of Ferny Creek Library

The Tiny Hero of Ferny Creek Library

Hardcover

$16.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details

Overview

Eddie, a passionate reader and a shiny green bug, saves the school library in this funny, heartwarming tale that fans of Flora & Ulysses and Charlotte’s Web will love. Includes black-and-white illustrations throughout from Newbery Honor Medalist and New York Times-bestselling author-artist Victoria Jamieson.

Eddie is a tiny green bug who loves to read and who lives behind the chalkboard in the fourth-grade classroom with his parents, his 53 brothers and sisters, and his aunt Min. But when Aunt Min goes to the school library to read a book and never returns, Eddie leaves the comfort of his home for the first time and makes the dangerous trek through Ferny Creek Elementary School to find her. After dodging running sneakers, falling books, and terrifying spiders, Eddie reaches the library, where he discovers Aunt Min stuck in a perilous situation! To top it all off, there’s a substitute librarian who aims to close the library for good and get rid of all the books!

Encouraged by the brave deeds done by small creatures such as Stuart Little and Charlotte from Charlotte’s Web, Eddie comes up with a plan to save the library—a plan that requires all the courage one little bug can muster.

A great read-aloud and read-alone, this action-packed short novel includes references to classic children’s literature throughout and is perfect for fans of Chris Grabenstein’s Escape from Mr. Lemoncello’s Library and Lynne Rae Perkins’s Nuts to You. Featuring extensive black-and-white art from Newbery Honor Medalist and New York Times-bestselling author-artist Victoria Jamieson.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780062440938
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date: 06/20/2017
Pages: 336
Sales rank: 646,633
Product dimensions: 5.80(w) x 8.40(h) x 1.30(d)
Age Range: 8 - 12 Years

About the Author

Since 1985 Linda Bailey has worked as a photograph curator and reference librarian for the Cincinnati Historical Society Library at Cincinnati Museum Center and was previously a reference librarian for the Kenton County Public Library in Kentucky. She has responsibility for managing the library's extensive collection of historic photographs, prints, and lithographs and over the years has helped countless authors and publishers find the historic images and information they need for their projects.

Customer Reviews