The Underworld

The Underworld

by Kevin Canty

Hardcover

$24.95
View All Available Formats & Editions
Usually ships within 6 days
MARKETPLACE
31 New & Used Starting at $1.99

Overview

For readers of Russell Banks and Richard Ford, a novel about loss, love, and redemption following a catastrophe in a small mining town.


In The Underworld, Kevin Canty tells a story inspired by the facts of a disastrous fire that took place in an isolated silver mining town in Idaho in the 1970s, in which almost everyone in town lost a friend, a lover, a brother, or a husband. The Underworld imagines the fates of a handful of fictional survivors and their loved ones—Jordan, a young widow with twin children; David, a college student trying to make a life for himself in another town; Lionel, a lifelong hard-rock miner—as they struggle to come to terms with the loss. It’s a tough, hard-working, hard-drinking town, a town of whores and priests and bar fights, but nobody’s tough enough to get through this undamaged. A powerful and unforgettable tale about small-town lives and the healing power of love in the midst of suffering.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780393293050
Publisher: Norton, W. W. & Company, Inc.
Publication date: 03/07/2017
Pages: 256
Product dimensions: 5.60(w) x 8.30(h) x 1.10(d)

About the Author

Kevin Canty is the author of four novels and three short story collections and has been published in The New Yorker, Esquire, GQ, and the New York Times Magazine. He currently teaches at the University of Montana in Missoula.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews