The Warrior Queen

The Warrior Queen

by Emily R. King

Paperback

$9.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, October 23

Overview

In the final volume of The Hundredth Queen Series, Kalinda will risk everything to save the man she loves.

Kalinda has brought peace to the Tarachand Empire, at least for now. Bhutas no longer need to hide their gifts. The last of the rebels have been banished. And Prince Ashwin is set to take over as rajah.

But for Kalinda, this all came at a great loss. Her childhood home. Her best friend. The love of her life.

Deven is still trapped in the Void, although he is able to find his way to Kalinda each night. He has been lucky so far—mortals are not meant to last in the Void for long, and Deven has lasted longer than most. But when he doesn’t visit her one night, Kalinda knows that his luck has run out.

She will do whatever it takes to save the man she loves, even if it means convincing a god to guide her through the Void. Freeing a mortal from the Void is nearly impossible, but Kalinda has never let those odds stop her before…

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781503903371
Publisher: Amazon Publishing
Publication date: 08/14/2018
Series: Hundredth Queen Series , #4
Pages: 316
Sales rank: 163,645
Product dimensions: 5.40(w) x 8.10(h) x 1.00(d)
Age Range: 13 - 17 Years

About the Author

Emily R. King is a writer of fantasy and the author of The Hundredth Queen Series. Born in Canada and raised in the United States, she is a shark advocate, a consumer of gummy bears, and an islander at heart, but her greatest interests are her four children. Emily is a member of the Society of Children’s Book Writers and Illustrators and an active participant in her local writers’ community. She lives in Northern Utah with her family and their cantankerous cat. Visit her at www.emilyrking.com.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Warrior Queen 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 3 reviews.
Gigous More than 1 year ago
The thrilling final book in the Hundredth Queen series. This story starts three months after the third book left off. The story has chapters told in first person by Kali, Ashwin and Deven. Deven has been trapped in the Void and Kali is searching for a way to get him out while also helping Ashwin start his new reign. Ashwin is making changes to how Tarek ruled Tarachand including opening trade with the other countries, ending the claiming ceremony, and taking a Bhuta, Princess Gemi, as his viraji. Having been under Tarek’s rule for so long, some of the people are not happy with the changes. A former member of Tarek’s army, Commander Lokesh, is leading the protests and encouraging riots against Bhutas and Ashwin. Brac, Tinely, Indah, Pons, Yatin, and Natesa are there to help Ashwin take over as Rajah. Kali learns of way to save Deven and travels with Tinley to Paljor in the north. In Paljor, Kali meets Tinley’s family and her grandmother knows of a way to locate the gods’ temple in the Alpana mountains. Kali finds the gods’ temple and meets the fire god, Enlil. He agrees to take Kali to the Void to rescue Deven, but seems to have other intentions. The longer Kali is with Enlil, memories of her past lives surface and Kali learns that she actually is Enlil’s 100th rani reincarnated. Though some of her past lives loved Enlil, Kali stays focused on her feelings for Deven. Meanwhile, in Vanhi, Gemi arrives and Ashwin gets to know her. Ashwin has trouble stepping into the role of Rajah, which Lokesh takes advantage of. Ashwin and his friends have to deal with stopping the potential revolt. In the Void, Deven tries to keep his memories and figure out the suspicious activity of the demons. Can Kali save Deven? Can Ashwin get his people to accept him and the positive changes he wants to make? This fourth book keeps with the action and adventure of the series, but is different from the other books including more Tarachland lore. The story is fast paced and keeps you reading. The different narratives give you Kali’s, Ashwin’s, and Deven’s perspectives. Since Kali, Ashwin, and Deven spend most of the book apart the chapters do not repeat events. All sides of the story are exciting and pull you in. The characters are still well written and the new characters are excellent. In this story Kali travels to Paljor and we learn more about Tinley and her family. We also learn more about Princess Gemi when she arrives in Vanhi. The settings are very well described. You can feel the creepiness of the Void, the heat of the desert, and the cold in the mountains. This story has some violent scenes, but nothing too gory. The story has romance scenes, none are too racy. No love triangle either. This story resolves the conflicts and does not have a cliffhanger ending. I really liked this final book in the series. Readers of the other books in the series will be happy with this ending. Fans of Red Queen, Throne of Glass, Frostblood, and Rebel of the Sands would really enjoy this series. I received a copy from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.
BookFreakOut More than 1 year ago
I think this series has gotten steadily better in each book, and this is definitely my favorite of the four! The author is good about naturally referencing what happened in the previous books at the beginning of the story, I didn't feel like I was missing details because I hadn't done a back-to-back reread of the other books. I thought it was an excellent ending to the series, I enjoyed each of the three POVs and never found myself wishing I was reading a different narrator. It was especially interesting to see how the author tied in several of the old myths and legends that have been referenced throughout the series, elevating them from ancillary to integral. I thought this was a very satisfying conclusion that is exciting and full without resorting to ripping readers' hearts out like many other fantasies are currently doing.
Disturbia0509 More than 1 year ago
Finally!! I’m finished with this series. This book was about 1/2 a step up from the other books. This whole concept was really interesting but I think the execution was lacking. Overall, this book was more interesting than the others. As you know, my biggest issue with the previous books was the love interests. It was also that it’s all the author really focused on. I was just really annoyed. This book still focuses on the love interests but there’s a lot more action going on too. I think that King had a hard time with the world building and it left me a little confused at times. I didn’t quite understand everything she was trying to do with the magic. I feel like she took on a little too much. It may be why I just couldn’t immerse myself into the actual story. The characters were not much better in this book. I still couldn’t care for the alternating POV’s, especially Devon. I don’t know why but I just don’t like him! I can’t really “ship” he and Kalinda and it’s why I just don’t like him. The pacing was good with this one but I feel like this book was just not necessary. It almost felt like a different book entirely. There’s a part that comes about with Kalinda and I was close to not finishing. There was nothing really that points to it in the previous books but then here it is. Overall, I thought this was a bit better than the last 3 books, pacing wise. There was a little more emphasis on the actual plot than the love stories. Thanks, to the publisher (Skyscape) and Netgalley for providing me with an e-ARC of this book. #TheWarriorQueen #NetGalley You can see my review here: https://booksarethenewblackblog.wordpress.com/2018/08/14/the-warrior-queen-by-emily-r-king/