The Whispering Trees (Thickety Series #2)

The Whispering Trees (Thickety Series #2)

Hardcover

$16.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Wednesday, October 24  Order now and choose Expedited Shipping during checkout.

Overview

The Whispering Trees (Thickety Series #2) by J. A. White, Andrea Offermann

Perfect for fans of Neil Gaiman, book two in the acclaimed Thickety series is the story of a good witch, a bad witch, and a forest demon, trapped together in a world that is both enchanting and dangerous.

After Kara Westfall's village turns on her for practicing witchcraft, she and her brother, Taff, flee to the one place they know they won't be followed: the Thickety. Only this time Kara is magicless without her grimoire and Sordyr, the forest demon, is intent on keeping them there. Kara and Taff will meet other inhabitants of the Thickety in their search for a safe way out, including the infamous witch, Mary Kettle. But can they trust anyone—plant, creature, witch, book, or magic—to help them escape, to undo Grace's final terrible spell, and to stop Sordyr's horrible reach from spreading across the rest of the world?

Correlates to the Common Core State Standards in English Language Arts

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780062257291
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date: 03/10/2015
Series: Thickety Series , #2
Pages: 528
Sales rank: 351,773
Product dimensions: 5.70(w) x 7.20(h) x 1.90(d)
Lexile: 730L (what's this?)
Age Range: 10 - 12 Years

About the Author

J. A. White is the author of The Thickety: A Path Begins. He lives in New Jersey with his wife, three sons, and a hamster named Ophelia that doesn't like him very much. When he's not making up stories, he teaches a bunch of kids how to make up stories (along with math and science and other important stuff). He wishes dragons were real because it would be a much cooler way to get to work.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Whispering Trees 4.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 7 reviews.
Anonymous 4 months ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
CarinaOlsen More than 1 year ago
I loved re-reading this book oh so much. I didn't realize how many details I had forgotten about it since I first read it in October last year. I also probably loved it even more this time. Though I loved it like crazy the first time too. This book is just amazing. And I loved it oh so much. Just like I loved book one. And I will be starting book three tomorrow, and I simply cannot wait. It's going to be amazing. Sigh. And the writing in this book is so stunning. Jerry is an amazing author. I just loved everything about this book. Book one, A Path Begins, was pretty dark. And it ended in a bad place, ack. The Whispering Trees start in just that moment. And it's so amazing. The Thickety is a strange and dangerous place. Loved getting to see it up close. To learn more about all the different animals in there. How they suffer. To learn more about the forest demon Sordyr too, though, shudders. He was all kinds of awful. The twist at the end was the best. So amazing. And a bit shocking. Every moment in this book was incredible to read about. Kara is a twelve year old witch. And in this book we see her use her power more. And it was so fantastic to read about. Kara is amazing. Sigh. But oh my gosh, I'm still not over how she uses her power. What she loses when she does it. Sobs. There must be a way to get her memories back. There must be. If not.. it's just so sad. Yet written perfectly too. But yes. Heartbreaking. Even so, I loved reading about Kara testing her powers. And how Mary was teaching her about them. I loved reading about everything. I just loved re-reading this book so much. Kara is the best character to read about. She's so brave and smart and caring and I adore her to pieces. I'm a bit sad there was no Lucas in this one, but there will be in book three, and I'm so excited. But anyway. Kara is the best. And I adore her little brother Taff oh so much. He's adorable. And their relationship is the best. There are some new characters in this one too that I love so much. Like Mary Kettle. She was creepy. Yet I loved her. Really liked reading about Safi. There is so much darkness in this book. And I loved it oh so much. The Thickety is a dark places. Full of evil. Like Imogen. Shudders. She was the worst, I think. And the most amazing to read about. Sigh. And the giant dead creature. That was all kinds of awesome to read about again. Just, I loved everything that happened in this book. And I don't know how to mention it all. It is a big adventure. A quest. And it is so much fun. Though not really any fun happening at all. But anyway. It is a beautiful book. So perfect. I don't know what else to say about this precious. I could probably mention all the plot points, but I won't. I just wanted to share again that I really, really loved The Thickety: The Whispering Trees. It is a perfect sequel. So dark and delicious. I loved every moment. Also wish to mention that the artwork is special and oh so gorgeous. Especially the covers. So much love for them all. Anyway. If you have yet to read this sequel, then you really must. It is a book worth reading and loving. You must all read this book.
scoey1 More than 1 year ago
Enjoyed this second book and was disappointed when it ended. Looking forward to the next one. This is good for adults or teens. Kinda dark and spooky for younger readers.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is the second book of the Thickety series. If you have not read the first, please do not start here as you will be completely lost; however, that being said, this is a great series I would recommend to anyone, adults included. It does cover a little darker side of magic, so if you are under 9 or 10, I would suggest reading a sampling of the first book to see if the intensity is up your alley. To those who read the first book and have been waiting for this -- it was WELL worth the wait! My only complaint is the cliffhanger ending! Ahhhhh! I hate the waiting! As with the first book, this author has a way with words that is extraordinary! He sucks you into the story and you forget the world around you. The next thing you know, a couple of hours have passed and you are left breathless with an ending that is a sucker punch to the gut! I LOVE IT!! Thank you Mr. White for giving us this story! I cannot wait to see how you are going to wrap this one up! -- SPeeD
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved the first book and cant wait for the second one!