The Wiglaff Tales (The Wiglaff Chronicles, #1)

The Wiglaff Tales (The Wiglaff Chronicles, #1)

by E. W. Farnsworth

NOOK Book(eBook)


Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details


Roman imperial forces are massing to invade and enslave Caledonia. Wiglaff, son of the great warrior Mordru, is shunned by his father as unsuitable warrior material.  An unusual child, Wiglaff has visions and an uncanny relationship with the natural world. He becomes the  protégé of the shaman Ugard and learns how to focus his powers to bring rain and affect events. 

Meanwhile, Wiglaff's warrior sister Winna, quietly forms a band of warrior women from the nearby villages.  The shaman, his protégé Wiglaff, and Winna join forces to combat this formidable enemy.  

Imperial forces mass for an onslaught against the villagers, and the situation looks hopeless until the shamans defeat the enemy by using white and black magic.  Alma, a Roman double agent, insinuates herself into Wiglaff’s household and provides critical intelligence about imperial intentions and movements. 

Wiglaff foresees a greater threat to Caledonia than imperial forces however, as two Roman scouts are taken prisoner by Winna’s warriors who are followers of a crucified man named Jesus. When negotiations break down and the Caledonian Confederacy prepares to go to all-out war with Rome, will Wiglaff and his companions be able to save their village?

Product Details

BN ID: 2940156270897
Publisher: Zimbell House Publishing
Publication date: 11/08/2016
Series: The Wiglaff Chronicles
Sold by: Draft2Digital
Format: NOOK Book
File size: 541 KB

About the Author

E. W. Farnsworth lives and writes in Arizona. Over two hundred fifty of his short stories were published at a variety of venues from London to Hong Kong in the period 2014 through 2018.

Published in 2015 were his collected Arizona westerns Desert Sun, Red Blood, his thriller about cryptocurrency crimes Bitcoin Fandango, his John Fulghum Mysteries, Volume I, and Engaging Rachel, an Anderson romance/thriller, the latter two by Zimbell House Publishing.

Published by Zimbell House in 2016 and 2017 were Farnsworth’s Pirate Tales, John Fulghum Mysteries, Volumes II, III, IV and V, Baro Xaimos: A Novel of the Gypsy Holocaust, The Black Marble Griffon and Other Disturbing Tales, Among Waterfowl and Other Entertainments and Fantasy, Myth and Fairy Tales.

Published by Audio Arcadia in 2016 were DarkFire at the Edge of Time, Farnsworth’s collection of visionary science fiction stories, Nightworld, A Novel of Virtual Reality, and two collections of stories, The Black Arts and Black Secrets. Also published by Audio Arcadia in 2017 were Odd Angles on the 1950s, The Otio in Negotio: The Comical Accidence of Business and DarkFire Continuum: Science Fiction Stories of the Apocalypse. In 2018 Audio Arcadia released A Selection of Stories by E. W. Farnsworth.

Farnsworth’s Dead Cat Bounce, an Inspector Allhoff novel, appeared in 2016 from Pro Se Productions, which will also publish his Desert Sun, Red Blood, Volume II, The Secret Adventures of Agents Salamander and Crow and a series of three Al Katana superhero novels in 2017 and 2018.

E. W. Farnsworth is now working on an epic poem, The Voyage of the Spaceship Arcturus, about the future of humankind when humans, avatars and artificial intelligence must work together to instantiate a second Eden after the Chaos Wars bring an end to life on Earth.

For updates, please see

Customer Reviews