The Wrong Case (Milo Milodragovitch Series #1)

The Wrong Case (Milo Milodragovitch Series #1)

by James Crumley


$14.90 $15.00 Save 1% Current price is $14.9, Original price is $15. You Save 1%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, January 23

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780394735580
Publisher: Knopf Doubleday Publishing Group
Publication date: 12/28/1985
Series: Milo Milodragovitch Series , #1
Pages: 288
Sales rank: 536,859
Product dimensions: 5.20(w) x 7.98(h) x 0.60(d)

About the Author

James Crumley was born in Three Rivers, Texas, and spent most of his childhood in South Texas. After serving three years in the U.S. Army and completing college degrees in history (BA, Texas College of Arts and Industries) and creative writing (MFA, University of Iowa), he joined the English faculty at the University of Montana at Missoula. He was also a visiting professor at a number of other institutions around the country, including the University of Texas at El Paso, Colorado State University, Reed College, and Carnegie-Mellon. His works include a novel of Vietnam, One to Count Cadence, and seven detective novels: The Wrong CaseThe Last Good KissDancing BearThe Mexican Tree DuckBordersnakes, The Final Country, and The Right Madness. He died in Missoula in 2008.

Table of Contents

What People are Saying About This

Stanley Elkin

"The Wrong Case is in the tradition of Dashiell Hammett of The Glass Key and does full honor to Hammett. The story is powerful, the writing is high caliber."

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Wrong Case (Milo Milodragovitch Series #1) 3.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 2 reviews.
clfisha on LibraryThing 5 months ago
Mixing 1970s sensibilities with noir tropes and delving into heavy drinks and alcoholics culture this promised to be one interesting ride but sadly I just couldn't get on board.Ok I confess I am a diehard Raymond Chandler fan and to my eyes the introduction of drugs, free love and more explicit violence just didn't fit. I guess, for me, it didn't date and so my expectations were affronted. Although it felt forced too: right at the beginning there is a dramatic and yet casual fatal hit & run of a purse snatcher. It's treated with ennui and fatalism but it felt out of place and too forced i.e. "lets grab the readers attention". Probably unfair of me but it put me in the wrong mood for the rest of the book.So it was a pleasant surprise to find in the end it didn't turn out too bad. Ok the plot was average, but then the mystery is not really the point, and the characters don't stray into stereotypes too often, although for all his idiosyncrasies, I felt the main character was a bit bland. No where it does stand out is in the depiction of the culture of alcoholism, refreshingly painting a fond & accepting eye over their proceedings whilst acknowledging the tragedy, stupidity and horror of it. It made interesting eddies into the story and created some great locations and characters.So whilst getting a look into the mindset of a heavy drinker saved this for me but I am not sure I would recommend it. I guess crime lovers will probably know if it sounds like their thing or not.
Jim53 on LibraryThing 5 months ago
Milo is certainly an anti-hero; he drinks in response to almost any situation and has very few redeeming characteristics. He had been a PI supporting divorce cases, but with no-fault divorces he is out of work. He agrees to look into the death of the brother of a "hot chick" who approaches him for help. Between drinks and beatings, he slowly makes strides toward recognizing what's happening.Crumley's writing is surprisingly lyrical. Milo's observations of nature and scenary, as well as other people, are full of similes and metaphors. The fact that he is the point-of-view character, though, doesn't make him any more likeable. I found it hard to get too invested in his attempts to figure things out. Overall, a well written story that features pretty unattractive characters.