To Win or to Lose

To Win or to Lose

by The Pine Hill HaintsThe Pine Hill Haints


View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, August 5


Who said washboards and washtubs don't belong in rock? Continuing to add the hillbilly to rockabilly, the Pine Hill Haints fine-tune their junkyard sound while taking a slightly darker turn on their second album for K Records, To Win or to Lose. Lyrically, the songs often follow the travels of folks who are down on their luck -- specifically hobos, vagabonds, and dumpster divers -- but despite depressing undertones, the record still manages to be mostly upbeat. Heck, It's not easy to hold a frown in the middle of a fiddle-sawing, banjo-plucking hoedown. Like their previous efforts, the Haints mix up bluegrass, honky tonk, Americana, and bluesy shuffles here, but this time they take things a step further and explore new ground. "Bordello Blackwidow" takes calypso inspiration from Harry Belafonte, and Jamie Barrier and his gang even try their hand at two traditional covers, letting loose some "yeehaws!" on Woody Guthrie's outlaw country ballad "The Ranger's Command" and attempting to sing in French (albeit filtered through a slackjaw twang) in "Je Passe Devant Ta Porte." A few moments could be considered overly self-indulgent, but even if the record loses its way a few times, for the most part, it's a solid effort. When the down-home boys and girls keep their chins up and stick to their roots, things really cook. "Charley Horse" is a sh*t-kickin', boot-stompin' jamboree, and "Never Cry" is a spirited romp that's catchy enough to please fans of both new-fangled modern music and old-time rock & roll.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 07/07/2009
Label: K. Records
UPC: 0789856120826
catalogNumber: 61208
Rank: 168010


  1. Intro
  2. Not So Lucky and the Invisible Kid
  3. Charley Horse
  4. Borello Blackwindow
  5. Scar
  6. Halloween-Time All the Time
  7. Never Cry
  8. Revenge of the Spider-Web Boy
  9. Je Passe Devant Ta Porte
  10. Never Gonna Die
  11. My Bones Are Gonna Rise Again
  12. How Much Poison Does It Take
  13. The Ranger's Command
  14. Screaming Jenny
  15. Doublehead
  16. You Are My Thief

Album Credits

Customer Reviews