Two Bobbies: A True Story of Hurricane Katrina, Friendship, and Survival

Two Bobbies: A True Story of Hurricane Katrina, Friendship, and Survival

Hardcover

$17.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details

Overview

from Newbery award winning author Kirby Larson comes a remarkable true story of the devotion, friendship, and survival of two pets left behind in the wake of Hurricane Katrina. In the tradition of Owen and Mzee, this beautiful picture book is a testament to the spirit that defined post-Katrina rescue missions.

During Hurricane Katrina, evacuating New Orleans residents were forced to leave their pets behind. Bobbi the dog was initially chained to keep her safe, but after her owners failed to return, she had to break free. For months, Bobbi wandered the city's ravaged streets-dragging her chain behind her-followed by her feline companion, Bob Cat. After months of hunger and struggle, the Two Bobbies were finally rescued by a construction worker helping to rebuild the city. When he brought them to a shelter, volunteers made an amazing discovery about the devoted friends-Bob Cat was actually blind! He had survived the aftermath of the storm by following the sound Bobbi's chain made as she dragged it along the ground.

At the shelter, the two bob-tailed friends refused to be parted, even for a moment. Could rescue workers find the Bobbies' owners? Or could they find a new home that would take them together?

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780802797544
Publisher: Bloomsbury USA
Publication date: 08/05/2008
Pages: 32
Sales rank: 166,684
Product dimensions: 8.60(w) x 10.10(h) x 0.40(d)
Age Range: 4 - 8 Years

About the Author

KIRBY LARSON is the acclaimed author of many books for children, including the 2007 Newbery Honor Book, Hattie Big Sky, The Magic Kerchief and other picture books. She lives in Kenmore, Washington. www.kirbylarson.com

MARY NETHERY is the author of many picture books, including Mary Veronica's Egg, and Hannah and Jack. She lives in Eureka, California. www.marynethery.com The authors will be donating a portion of their proceeds to Best Friends Animal Society.

JEAN CASSELS has illustrated more than 50 nonfiction nature titles. Her other titles include Groundhog Stays Up Late and Br'er Rabbit Captured!. She lives with her husband in New Orleans, where her home survived intact with just some water marks as a reminder of Katrina.

Customer Reviews